Posted on Leave a comment

Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge 1997-2005

Results 1997-2005


Year Location Home Team   Away Team  
1997 Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 12 Leicester Europa Eagles 6
1998 Leicester Leicester Europa Eagles 24 Drimnagh Cycos 12
1999 Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 20 Leicester Europa Eagles 12
2000-01 Leicester Leicester Europa Eagles 8 Drimnagh Cycos 12
2001 Sallins, Kildare Drimnagh Cycos 49 Leicester Europa Eagles 6
2002 Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 12 Leicester Europa Eagles 12
2003 Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 6 Leicester Europa Eagles 12
2004 Marlay Pk, Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 6 Leicester Europa Eagles 26
2005 Phoenix Pk, Dublin Drimnagh Cycos 6 Leicester Europa Eagles 34



Note: the 2000 fixture was held over to 2001

Record: Drimnagh Cycos 4 Wins / Leicester Europa Eagles 4 Wins / 1 Tie





From 1997 to 2005 the Drimnagh Cycos (Ireland) and the Leicester Europa Eagles (England) competed for the Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge Trophy. These matches were the first International matches involving Irish or British Flag Football Teams. Matches played in Leiceser were played under 5-a-side Rules while matches in Dublin were played under Irish 7-a-side Rules, where every man is an eligible receiver, which was then-current in Ireland.




[1] Anon. (1997) “Eagles lose to Cycos in Dublin Challenge Match”. First Down, August 2 1997

[2] Anon. (1998) “Eagles soar over Irish challengers”. First Down, Saturday, May 16 1998,, pg. 21

[3] Anon. (1999) “Flying high for the Irish title”. First Down, June 3-9 1999

[4] Anon. (1999) “Cycos path to Glory”. First Down, June 17-23 1999, pg. 19




[5] Britball Now (2018) History of the game in Ireland [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 25 October 2016]




Thanks to Peter Mullen, Drimnagh Cycos.


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 10 April 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply