Posted on Leave a comment

American Arena League 2018-Present

American Arena League Logo [Reference: 12]

AAL 2018

PWLTPFPAPct
West Virginia Roughriders131120.
Rochester Kings5320.600
New Jersey Flight7430.571
New England Cavalry1010.000
South
Atlanta Havoc131120
Georgia Doom9720.778
Carolina Energy11740.636
Cape Fear Heroes7340.429
Florida Tarpons5230.400
East Carolina Torch6240.333
Austin Wild3120.333
High Country Grizzlies8260.250
Upsate Dragons7160.143
Carolina Cowboyz3030.000
Peach State Cats6060.000
American Arena League Standings 2018 [Reference: Compiled from Results in: 1-16]

AAL 2019

PWLTPFPAPct
North
West Virginia Roughriders1111001.000
West Michigan Ironmen7520.714
Jersey Flight4220.500
New England Bobcats3120.333
Indianapolis Enforcers3030.000
Burgh Defenders5050.000
New England Cavalry1010.000
South
Carolina Energy5410.800
Carolina Havoc9720.778
Peach State Cats5320.600
Cape Fear Heroes8440.500
Georgia Doom4220.500
Carolina Cowboyz5140.200
Carolina Predators5050.000
American Arena League Standings 2019 [Reference: Compiled from Results in: 10-22]

About AAF

The American Arena League is an Arena American Football League playing along the East Coast of America. It is a follow-on from Supreme Indoor Football (see: ) and American Indoor Football (see: https://eirball.ie/2020/02/18/american-indoor-football-2012-2016/ )

About Arena / Indoor Football

Indoor Football, also known as Arena Football was developed in 1986 as an 8v8 form of Indoor American Football. After an initial few seasons where the game was developed with a 4 team league, a full seasons League with eventually over a dozen teams was developed in the 1990 which was considered by the Wall Street Journal to be a fifth major.

The Arena Football League over-expanded in the 2000s with a Minor League, and its importance (and number of teams) waned since it first experienced financial diffulties  in 2009, and it ceased operations after the 2019 season due to the legacy debt incurred.

There is now, however, Indoor Football Leagues all over America, all of which would now be considered Minor League or Semi-Pro (AAA, AA, or even A)

Indoor Football is played on a 50-yard field with two 8-yard endzones, and teams have 5 downs (attempts) to reach the endzone or the ball is turned over. 3 of those downs must be passing plays, making Indoor Football highly explosive and high scoring.

The main difference between Arena Football & Indoor Football is the rebound nets either side of the goalposts in Arena Football, which is the only part of the original patent given to the Arena Football League in 1989, that a subsequent ruling in 1998 ruled was copyright, the rest being Football already in other leagues.

References

Websites

[1] Scorestream (2019) Atlanta Havoc [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/atlanta-havoc-havoc-298004 [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[2] Scorestream (2019) Austin Wild [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/austin-wild-299224 [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[3] Scorestream (2019) East Carolina Torch [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/east-carolina-torch-torch-279590/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[4] Scorestream (2019) Florida Tarpons [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/florida-tarpons-tarpons-278840/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[5] Scorestream (2019) High Country Grizzlies [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/high-country-grizzlies-292424/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[6] Scorestream (2019) New England Cavalry [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/new-england-cavalry-300749 [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[7] Scorestream (2019) New Jersey Flight [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/new-jersey-flight-299947/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[8] Scorestream (2019) Rochester Kings [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/rochester-kings-293239 [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[9] Scorestream (2019) Upstate Dragons [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/upstate-dragons-292950/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[10] Scorestream (2019) Georgia Doom [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/georgia-doom-297565/games [Accessed 19 February 2020]

[11] Scorestream (2019) Cape Fear Heroes [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/cape-fear-heroes-278452/games [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[12] Scorestream (2019) Peach State Cats [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/peach-state-cats-cats-300393 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[13] Scorestream (2019) Carolina Cowboyz [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/carolina-cowboys-cowboyz-291295 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[14] Scorestream (2019) Carolina Energy [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/carolina-energy-299223 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[15] Scorestream (2019) Carolina Havoc [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/carolina-havoc-havoc-304473 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[16] Scorestream (2019) West Virginia Roughriders [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/west-virginia-roughriders-roughriders-292029/games [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[17] Scorestream (2019) Burgh Defenders [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/burgh-defenders-defenders-304472 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[18] Scorestream (2019) Indianapolis Enforcers [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/indianapolis-enforcers-enforcers-300565 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[19] Scorestream (2019) Jersey Flight [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/jersey-flight-flight-298897 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[20] Scorestream (2019) New England Bobcats [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/new-england-bobcats-300970 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[21] Scorestream (2019) West Michigan Ironmen [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/west-michigan-ironmen-282001/games [Accessed 26 November 2019]

[22] Scorestream (2019) Carolina Predators [Internet] Available from: https://scorestream.com/team/carolina-predators-predators-304475 [Accessed 26 November 2019]

Images

[13] American Arena League Forum Facebook (2018) Profile, September 28, 2018 [Internet] Available from: https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/c375.0.600.600a/p600x600/42638379_674264769609815_5888126070888071168_o.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_ohc=0efndG4RomIAX-N9wjI&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=21d37d85f63b746b94a24d10fede4b19&oe=5EF4D741 [Accessed 19 February 2020]

Acknowledgements

Thanks to Tim Leadingham

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 19 February 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply