AAA American Football Leagues

Rival Leagues to the National Football League have existed since the 1920s, most of them from the 1920s to 1960s called themselves the American Football League, and since then there has been a variety of names and ideas, such as the World Football League (1974-1975), Spring Leagues (United States Football League, 1983-1985), Indoor Football Leagues (Arena Football League 1986-present, though a Minor League rather than a Major League rival since 2000), Extreme Leagues (XFL 2001), Leagues aimed at the Drinks market (Lingerie / Legends Football Leagues 2004-Present).

Only the American Football League of 1960-1969 has been successful long-term, leading to both the start of the Super Bowl between the AFL Winners and the NFL Winners in 1967 and the eventual merger of the two leagues (They are now the American & National Football Conferences in the NFL – the Super Bowl is still played between the winners of the two Conferences)

Note: Leagues in Bold are sometimes consideredĀ Major League Rivals to the NFL.

Note 2: Leagues marked with asterisk (*) are sometimes considered AA.

American Football League Era (1926-1959):

American Football League 1926

California Winter League 1927-1928

Memphis Tigers | AAA Independent American Football 1929-1933

American Football League 1934

American Football League 1936-1937

American Football League 1938-1939

American Football League 1940-1941

American Football League 1944

Pacific Coast Pro Football League 1940-1948

All-American Football Conference 1946-1949

Spring / World Football Leagues Era (1950-present):

Canadian Football League 1950-1959

United Football League 1961-1964 (*)

Continental Football League 1965-1969

Southwestern Football League 1972-1973 (*)

World Football League 1974-1975 (Irish Players)

American Football Association 1977-1983 (*)

United States Football League 1983-1985

Arena / Indoor Football Leagues Era (1986-2019)

Arena Football League 1987-1991

Arena Football League 1992-2000

XFL 2001

Lingerie Bowl 2004-2009

Lingerie Football League 2009-2012

Legends Football League | United States 2013-2018

AAA World Football Leagues (1970-2019):

Intercontinental Football League 1970-1978

World League of American Football 1991-1992

World League of American Football 1995-1997

National Football League Europe 1998-2007

United Football League 2009-2011

Lingerie Football League Canada 2012-13

Legends Football League | Australia 2013-2014

China Arena Football League 2016

Liga Futbol Americano (Mexico) 2016-2019

Minority Football Leagues (2019-):

Alliance of American Football 2019

AAA Football Leagues (Seasons):

AAA American Football Leagues (Season Overviews):


Arena Football League:


Legends Football League | United States:


Liga Football Americano (Mexico):


Alliance of American Football:


Freedom Football League: