AFVD American Football Verband Deutschland German Bowl 1979-Present

German Football League Logo [References: 1]


1979IFrankfurter Löwen14Anzbach Grizzlies8
1980IIFrankfurter Löwen21Anzbach Grizzlies12
1981IIIAnzbach Grizzlies27Frankfurter Löwen6
1982IVAnzbach Grizzlies12Cologne Crocodiles6
1983VDüsseldorf Panther22Anzbach Grizzlies6
1984VIDüsseldorf Panther14Anzbach Grizzlies7
1985VIIAnzbach Grizzlies14Düsseldorf Panther7
1986VIIIDüsseldorf Panther27Anzbach Grizzlies14
1987IXBerlin Adler37Badener Griefs12
1988XRed Barons Cologne25Düsseldorf Panther20
1989XIBerlin Adler30Red Barons Cologne23
1990XIIBerlin Adler50Cologne Crocodiles38
1991XIIIBerlin Adler22Cologne Crocodiles21
1992XIVDüsseldorf Panther24Munich Cowboys23
1993XVMunich Cowboys42Cologne Crocodiles36
1994XVIDüsseldorf Panther27Berlin Adler17
1995XVIIDüsseldorf Panther17Hamburg Blue Devils10
1996XVIIIHamburg Blue Devils31Düsseldorf Panther12
1997XIXBraunschweig Lions26Cologne Crocodiles23
1998XXBraunschweig Lions20Hamburg Blue Devils14
1999XXIBraunschweig Lions25Hamburg Blue Devils24
2000XXIICologne Crocodiles31Braunschweig Lions29
2001XXIIIHamburg Blue Devils31Braunschweig Lions13
2002XXIVHamburg Blue Devils16Braunschweig Lions13
2003XXVHamburg Blue Devils37Braunschweig Lions36
2004XXVIBerlin Adler10Braunschweig Lions7
2005XXVIIBraunschweig Lions31Hamburg Blue Devils28
2006XXVIIIBraunschweig Lions31Marburg Mercenaries13
2007XXIXBraunschweig Lions27Stuttgart Scorions6
2008XXXBraunschweig Lions20Kiel Baltic Hurricanes14
2009XXXIBerlin Adler28Kiel Baltic Hurricanes14
2010XXXIIKiel Baltic Hurricanes17Berlin Adler10
2011XXXIIISchwäbisch Hall Unicorns48Kiel Baltic Hurricanes44
2012XXXIVSchwäbisch Hall Unicorns56Kiel Baltic Hurricanes53
2013XXXVBraunschweig NewYorker Lions35Dresden Monarchs34
2014XXXVIBraunschweig NewYorker Lions47Schwäbisch Hall Unicorns9
2015XXXVIIBraunschweig NewYorker Lions41Schwäbisch Hall Unicorns31
2016XXXVIIIBraunschweig NewYorker Lions31Schwäbisch Hall Unicorns20
2017XXXIXSchwäbisch Hall Unicorns14Braunschweig NewYorker Lions13
2018XXXXSchwäbisch Hall Unicorns21Samsung Frankfurt Universe19
AFVD American Football Verband Deutschland German Bowl 1979-Present [Reference: 2-3]


the First American Football Verband Deutschland German Bowl was played in 1979 and won on the first two occasions by Frankfurter Löwen (Wolves), with Anzbach Grizzlies winning the next two. Düsseldorf Panther won in 1983, 1984 and 1986 with Anzbach winning their third in the intervening year. Berlin Adler (Eagles) won four German Bowls in five years from 1987 to 1991, with Red Barons Cologne winning the one in between in 1988.Düsseldorf Panther again won three Bowls in four years from 1992 to 1995 with Munich Cowboys taking the honours in 1993.

In 1996 a new era of American Football began with Hamburg Blue Devils triumphing for the first time. Braunscweig Lionswon three in a row from 1997 to 1999 and then in the new Millenium, Cologne Crocodiles were another team to etch their name on the Champions list for the first time. Hamburg Blue Devils then got back on the winners roll, winning three in a row from 2001 to 2003, before Berlin Adler won in 2004. From 2005 to 2008 Braunschweig Lions again went on a winning run, and Berlin Adler got their third German Bowl victory in 2009.

There was another change in the guard in 2010, with Kiel Baltic Hurricanes victorious, and then Schwäbisch Hall Unicorns from 2011 to 2012 and 2017 to 2018, with Braunschweig NewYorker Lions triumphing in the four years in between.



[1] PinClipArt (2020) German Football League ClipArt [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 14 June 2020]


[2] AFVD (2018) Bowls [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 December 2018]

[3] AFVD (2020) GFL Tabellen [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 December 2018]


Thanks to Ralph Schmeer, Shane Mulcahy and Ciaran Simms

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 27 October 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply