American Football Ireland 2 Bowls 2014-Present

IAFL 2 Bowl 2019 Logo [6]

IAFL 2 Bowls 2014-2019

2014Tyrone Titans20Dundalk Mavericks7
2015Belfast Trojans 2nds48South Kildare Soldiers0
2016Donegal / Derry Vipers33Wexford Eagles29
2017Meath Bulldogs40Antrim Jets0
2018No Competition
2019Cill Dara Crusaders34Meath Bulldogs26
American Football Ireland 2 Bowls 2014-Present Ref: 1-5]

Composite Standings 2014-Present

Belfast Trojans 2nds110
Cill Dara Crusaders110
Donegal / Derry Vipers110
Tyrone Titans110
Meath Bulldogs211
Antrim Jets101
Dundalk Mavericks *101
South Kildare Soldiers101
Wexford Eagles101
American Football Ireland 2 Bowls Composite standings 2014-2019 [Ref: compiled from 1-5]

Note: * Now known as Louth Mavericks.


The IAFL 2 Conference was started as a third level in 2014. Tyrone Titans won the first IAFL 1 Bowl 20-7 over Dundalk Mavericks. Belfast Trojans 2nds won the following year, again a Leinster Regional Team the Runners-Up in South Kildare Soldiers.

Donegal/Derry Vipers made it three in a row for Ulster in 2016 with a win over another Leinster Regional team, the Wexford Eagles (33-29). Meath Bulldogs finally won the Title for Leinster with a 40-0 win over Antrim Jets who were hoping to make it four in a row for Ulster sides.

The IAFL 2 Conference was merged with the IAFL 1 Conference in 2018, but the Conference was reinstated in 2019, Cill Dara Crusaders becoming the first Kildare side to win a Bowl by beating Meath Bulldogs 34-26 in the Final.

In all, nine different teams have competed in the five years of the 2 Bowl, with only the Meath Bulldogs making a return trip to the Bowl.

Cill Dara Crusaders IAFL 2 Bowl Champions 2019 [Ref: 7]



[1] Irish American Football Association (2014) IAFL Standings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 23 August 2014]

[2] Irish american Football Association (2016) Donegal Derry Vipers win IAFL2 Bowl in a spectacular game with Wexford Eagles [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 1 September 2016]

[3] IAFA Ireland Facebook Page (2017) Facebook Post August 20 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 August 2017]

[4] Irish American Football Association (2015) UCD wins IAFL1 Championship; Tyrone wins IAFL2 Championship [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 27 November 2018]

[5] Irish American Football Association (2019) Kitted Football | League Details | IAFL2 [Playoffs][Standings][Results & Fixtures] 2019 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 16 July 2019]


[6] Irish American Football Association (2019) IAFA 2 Bowl Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 16 July 2019]

[7] Irish American Football Association (2019) Cill Dara Crusaders Team Photo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 16 July 2019]


Thanks to Cillian Smith, Michael Smith, Ralph Schmeer and Michael Brophy of the Irish American Football Association and Irish American Football Officials Association.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 27 May 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply