American Football Ireland 8v8

DV8 & Junior Kitted Football

DV8 (8 v 8 American Football) was first developed in the USA for smaller High schools & Colleges so they could play American Football. In Ireland it is primarily used for Junior Kitted American Football League (15-19 Year-Olds), Smaller Towns (DV8 Development League) or 2nds Teams of full 11-v-11 American Football teams (DV8 Development League also).

Junior / Youth Kitted American Football

The first Junior / Youth Kitted American Football League was created in 1991, when the Northern Ireland Junior American League made the step up from Two-Touch to Kitted. It lasted two seasons, and from then the Ballymena Wolfhounds played international exhibition games against British opposition as they had no opposition in Ireland.

In the 2000s there were a number of exhibition games played among Junior Kitted teams, and in 2013 the first IAFA Junior Kitted Programme was officially launched, with a 7-team League, playing 7v7, 8v8, 9v9 Kitted Football (depending on the numbers on the day) in 2019.

There has also been 6v6 Junior Kitted American Football.

Junior / Youth Kitted Finals

American Football Ireland Youth Kitted Finals 2013-Present

Junior / Youth Kitted American Football (Decade / Era Overviews):

Irish American Football Association Youth Kitted League 2013-2019

Northern Ireland Junior American League 1991-1992

Junior / Youth Kitted American Football (Seasons):

Youth Internationals (Club):

UK & Ireland Youth Kitted Football | Exhibition 1998 Box Score

AFI Youth League (Seasons): 2020

IAFA Youth Kitted League (Seasons): 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013

IAFA Youth Cups, Leagues and Tournaments (Seasons): 2009 2008 2007 2006

AFAI Junior Kitted Challenge (Seasons): 1994

NIAFA Northern Ireland Junior American League | Kitted (Seasons): 1994 1992 1991

NIAFA Northern Ireland Junior American League | Kitted (Preseasons): 1991

DV8 Development League / Blitzes

The first DV8 Development Mini-League was created in 1993, for smaller teams like the Ardee Falcons (Co. Louth), and Dublin Tornadoes Vets (2nds team). Blitzes were played over the following 10 years, with another Mini-League (IAFL Division 2) created in 2003. Again Blitzes were employed up until the creation of the DV8 Development League in 2008, which lasted until 2012, when the League became the full 11v11 IAFL 1 Conference. The DV8 format was then used for the Junior Kitted League.

DV8 Development League (Decade / Era Overviews):

DV8 Development League – 1st and 2nds Teams Standings 2008-2012

Irish American Football League | DV8 Development League 2008-2012

Irish American Football Association DV8 Challenge 1998-2003

DV8 International Blitz

DV8 International Blitz (Seasons): 1995

DV8 Development League / Blitzes (Seasons):

IAFA DV8 Development League (Seasons): 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008

IAFA DV8 Blitzes: 2012 2012 2010 2008 2007

IAFA Irish American Football League | Division 2: 2003 2002

IAFA Blitz: Blitz 2001

AFAI DV8 Blitzes: 1998-99

AFAI Development Mini-League: 1993

IAFL 8-a-side Festivals (Seasons): 1992 1989 1988 1987