American Football Nations Cup 1996



  P W L T PF PA Pts
*Scotland 2 2 0 0 34 9 4
Ireland 3 1 2 0 30 34 2
Wales 1 0 1 0 0 21 0

Compiled from: [1]




Date Home Team   Away Team  
  Scotland 20 Ireland 6
  Ireland 3 Scotland 14
  Ireland 21 Wales 0






From 1996-2000 the Nations Cup was held between the National American Football teams of the four Atlantic Isles Nations: England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The series started in 1996 with a home-and-away series between Scotland and Ireland. The 1997 was the first official edition and featured Ireland, Scotland and Wales only, and the 2000 edition was a single game between England and Scotland. The 1998 and 1999 editions featured all four Atlantic Isles nations.







[1] Britball Now (2018) Complete History of the Game in the UK – 1996-2000: The Game hits rock bottom [Internet] Available from:—uk-hits-rock.html [Accessed 12 May 2018]




Thanks to Cillian Smith, Michael Smith and Michael Brophy of the Irish American Football Association and Irish American Football Officials Association.


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish American Football Archive

Last Updated: 15 May 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply