Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge VIII | Box Score & Match Report 2004

Result, 8 August 2004, Marlay Park, Dublin

Box Score

Leicester Europa Eagles141226
Drimnagh Cycos066
1st Half 
LEI – Ryan Melbourne TD Run, Tom Gill XPT Pass from Chris Wild7-0
LEI – James Hossack TD Pass from Craig Broughton,
Tom Gill XPT Pass from Chris Wild
2nd Half 
LEI – Alistair Colhurst TD Pass from Craig Broughton20-0
LEI – James Hossack TD Pass from Craig Broughton26-0
DRI – Steve Dunn TD Pass from Aidan Kelly26-6

Reference: [1]



Drimnagh Cycos 6 Leicester Europa Eagles 26

Drimnagh Cycos hosted the English Senior Flag League Champions Leicester Europa Eagles in Marlay Park, Dublin, for the 8th Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge. The Cycos defense intercepted Eagles QB Chris Wild on their first two drives, Liam Farrell and Aidan Kelly getting the picks. Defense dominated the early stages of this game as the Eagles got to the Cycos 1 yard line, only to fail to find a receiver on 4th down. [1]

Leicester’s James Hossack intercepted Aidan Kelly and the Eagles got the go-ahead touchdown on the following drive – riuunning back Ryan Melbourne sweeping down the right -hand side. Again the Cycos offense was stopped, and the Eagles went in 14-0 up at half-time after Chris Broughton found Hossack with an option pass. Chris Wild completed passes to Wide Receiver Tom Gill on both of these touchdowns to add extra points. [1]

To start the second half Broughton found Alastair Coulthurst with a short pass, which the Tight End took all the way into the endzone. Hossack got a second interception, and the ensuing drive saw him catch a Broughton Pass in the endzone to put Leicester 26-0 up. Drimnagh scored a consolatoiion TD after Steve Dunn weaved through the Leicester defense following a short pass from QB Aidan Kelly. [1]


[1] Britball Now (2018) History of the game in Ireland [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 25 October 2016]

[2] Britball Now (2018) 2004 Adult Flag News [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 March 2018]


Thanks to Peter Mullen, Drimnagh Cycos & Fiona Corrigan, Caoimhe Mullaney, Alan Delaney and John Kane

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 15 July 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply