Dublin Spartans Baseball Ireland A League Champions 2010

Baseball Ireland A-League 2010

Baseball Ireland Car Sticker Logo
Baseball Ireland Car Sticker Logo [Reference: 1]

Final League Table

*Dublin City Hurricanes15105045
*Greystones Mariners151050045
*Dublin Spartans15870239
*Belfast North Stars15870239
Dublin Black Sox155100530
Munster Warriors154748.619


Playoff Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
A-League Final
18.09.10Dublin City Hurricanes2Dublin Spartans9
18.09.10Dublin Spartans6Dublin City Hurricanes1
(Spartans won series 2-0)


Regular Season Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
Week 1
10.04.10Dublin City Hurricanes3Greystones Mariners2
10.04.10Munster Warriors1Dublin Spartans0
10.04.10Munster Warriors8Dublin Spartans5
Week 2
17.04.10Dublin City Hurricanes5Dublin Spartans6
17.04.10Dublin Black Sox1Greystones Mariners3
Week 3
24.04.10Greystones Mariners10Dublin Black Sox9
Week 4
01.05.10Munster Warriors11Dublin Black Sox24
01.05.10Munster Warriors10Dublin Black Sox16
02.05.10Greystones Mariners10Dublin Spartans3
Week 5
08.05.10Dublin City Hurricanes7Dublin Black Sox3
09.05.10Belfast North Stars7Greystones Mariners9
09.05.10Belfast North Stars3Greystones Mariners7
Week 6
15.05.10Belfast North Stars7Munster Warriors0 #
15.05.10Belfast North Stars7Munster Warriors0 #
15.05.10Greystones Mariners3Dublin City Hurricanes10
Week 7
22.05.10Belfast North Stars4Dublin Spartans3
22.05.10Dublin Spartans9Belfast North Stars10
Week 8
29.05.10Dublin Black Sox14Greystones Mariners8
Week 9
05.06.10Dublin Spartans10Belfast North Stars2
05.06.10Dublin Black Sox2Dublin City Hurricanes7
05.06.10Greystones Mariners8Belfast North Stars6
Week 10
20.06.10Dublin City Hurricanes10Munster Warriors6
20.06.10Dublin Spartans4Munster Warriors5
Week 11
27.06.10Dublin Black Sox0Dublin Spartans5
Week 12
10.07.10Dublin Spartans3Dublin City Hurricanes4
10.07.10Dublin Black Sox5Munster Warriors0
10.07.10Greystones Mariners12Munster Warriors0
Week 13
17.07.10Belfast North Stars1Dublin Black Sox2
17.07.10Munster Warriors3Dublin City Hurricanes21
17.06.10Dublin Black Sox9Belfast North Stars11
Week 14
24.07.10Dublin City Hurricanes16Belfast North Stars3
24.07.10Munster Warriors5Belfast North Stars7
Week 15
31.07.10Belfast North Stars2Dublin City Hurricanes0
31.07.10Dublin Spartans11Dublin Black Sox2
31.07.10Munster Warriors0Greystones Mariners7
31.07.10Belfast North Stars5Dublin City Hurricanes8
31.07.10Greystones Mariners7Munster Warriors0
Week 16
07.08.10Dublin Spartans7Dublin City Hurricanes0
Week 17
14.08.10Dublin City Hurricanes7Dublin Black Sox5
14.08.10Greystones Mariners4Dublin Spartans12
Week 18
21.08.10Dublin Spartans5Dublin Black Sox0
21.08.10Dublin City Hurricanes0Greystones Mariners2
Week 19
28.08.10Greystones Mariners1Dublin Spartans4
28.08.10Dublin Black Sox2Belfast North Stars4


Home Venues

TeamHome Field
Belfast North StarsBelfast
Dublin Black SoxShanganagh Park, Shankill, Co. Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown
Dublin City HurricanesO’Malley Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, D22, Co. South Dublin
Dublin SpartansO’Malley Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, D22, Co. South Dublin
Greystones MarinersGreystones, Co. Wicklow


Team and Player Awards

A League ChampionsDublin Spartans
A League Pennant WinnersDublin City Hurricanes
Andy Leonard MVP AwardJimmy Pita
Tommy Bond Best Pitcher AwardAndrei Apostaoie
Silver Slugger AwardCarlos Fabian
Batting ChampionCarlos Fabian

Reference: [6]


The Dublin Spartans won the 2010 Baseball Ireland A League Title, after beating League Pennant Winners Dublin City Hurricanes, sweeping the two-game series. Greystones Mariners (10-5) and Belfast North Stars (8-7) also qualified for the playoffs, the NorthStars for the first time ever, in their best season to date. The Dublin Black Sox (5-10) and Munster Warriors (4-7-4) were the other two teams in what was the most competitive season in the Irish Baseball League in years.

Dublin Spartans – Baseball Ireland A League Champions 2010 [4]


The 2010 Baseball Ireland A League was the 14th season of the Irish Baseball League and the 5th of the A League since the League was split into A & B Leagues in 2006. It featured 6 teams, a return to 2008 levels, after the addition of the Munster Warriors, based in Limerick, who had won Promotion after winning the B League in 2009.


[1] Baseball Ireland (2017) Baseball Ireland Logo Car Sticker [Internet] http://www.baseballireland.com/images/carsticker.jpg [Accessed 1 May 2017]

[2] – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2010) Ladder [Internet] Available from: https://web.archive.org/save/_embed/http://websites.sportstg.com/nfnn/rpt_ladder.cgi?results=N&round=18&client=1-7884-0-108844-0&pool=1 [Accessed 24 March 2017]

[3] Wayback Machine Web Archive – Baseball Ireland (2011) 2011 Adult Irish Baseball League [Internet] Available from: https://web.archive.org/web/20110716140650/http://www.baseballireland.com/spulse.html [Accessed 24 March 2017]

[6] Baseball Ireland (2019) Baseball Ireland – Award Winners [Internet] Available from: http://www.baseballireland.com/news.php?search_id=6 [Accessed 2 December 2019]


[4] Baseball Ireland (2019) Spartans 2010 Champions [Internet] Available from: http://www.baseballireland.com/images/Spartans_2010_Champs_Sml.jpg [Accessed 2 December 2019]

[5] Baseball Ireland (2017) Baseball Ireland Logo Car Sticker [Internet] http://www.baseballireland.com/images/carsticker.jpg [Accessed 1 May 2017]


Thanks to Tom Kelley & Peter Mullen (Black Sox)

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 2 December 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply