Baseball Ireland

This is the Eirball Index Page to All-Time Results and Standings of the Irish Baseball League and other Baseball Leagues in Ireland such as the WW2 League among US and Canadian Soldiers stationed in Northern Ireland for the duration of the War.

white baseball
Photo by Anastasia Zhenina on

In mid-1990s a few Leinster Softball players wanted something more competitive and atarted the first Irish Baseball League in 1997. With funding from the Irish-American owner of the Los Angeles Dodgers Major League Baseball team, a puropse-built Baseball Diamond was made in Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, including a Little League field, and the League has been in existence since, celebrating its 25th anniverary in 2021.

Irish Baseball League

Irish Baseball League 1997-2005; Baseball Ireland A-League and B-League 2006-Present

Irish Baseball League (Standings)

Baseball Ireland A-League 2006-2020

Irish Baseball League 1997-2005

Baseball Ireland B-League 2006-2020

Irish Baseball League Results

Baseball Ireland A-League Seasons:

2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016  2015  2014 2013 2012 2011  2010  2009 2008 2007  2006   

Irish Baseball & Softball Federation – Irish Baseball League (Seasons):

2005 2004 2003 2002  2001  2000 1999  1998 1997  

Baseball Ireland B-League Seasons:

2021 2020 2019 2018  2017 2016 2015 

2014  2013 2012 2011  2010 2009 2008 2007  2006 

baseball bat and balls on a bench
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko on

Irish Baseball League Preseason

Baseball Ireland Machine Cage League 80mph

Baseball Ireland Machine Cage League 60mph

baseball player batting photography
Photo by Pixabay on

Cadet Baseball Leagues

Baseball has been played in Ireland since the first visiting American Major League teams in the 1870s, and the first Leagues in Ireland were played by American and Canadian Baseball playersstationed in Northern Ireland during the Second World War. In the 1960s the Youth first teams in Ireland were formed in Dublin and Waterford, and the Irish Baseball Association was formed by these teams. In 1982 the first Dublin Softball League (Softball is a recreational version of Baseball) season was played (the League is still in existence as the Leinster Softball League) 1988 the Donegal Baseball and Softball Association played a Youth Baseball season

Northern Ireland Baseball Championship

From 1942, when US Soldiers, Navy & Airmen stationed in Northern Ireland during World War II played in the Northern Ireland Baseball League and 8th US Air Corps Baseball Championship, to the Youth Baseball Championships played in Waterford & Dublin in the 1960s (The Irish Baseball Association) and Donegal (The Donegal Baseball & Softball Association) there have been Baseball Leagues in Ireland.

Irish Baseball Leagues 1942-1988

WW2 US Armed Forces Leagues 1942-1943; Cadet Baseball Leagues 1961-1988.

Cadet Baseball Leagues Finals

Irish Baseball Association | Championship 1961-1966

Cadet Baseball Leagues Results

Donegal Baseball & Softball Asociation (Seasons): 1988

Tuam (Galway) Cadet Baseball (Seasons): 1970

Irish Baseball Association (Seasons): 1961

Northern Ireland Baseball League 1942-1943

8th US Air Corps v NIBL Championship Series (Seasons): 1943

Northern Ireland Baseball League (Seasons): 1943 1942 

8th US Air Corps Baseball Championship (Seasons): 1943

Baseball Ireland Teams

The first Irish Baseball League season took place in 1997 with four teams. The following year it was decided to start fresh with all-new teams and an all-players draft. The Hurricanes and Spartans, now Dublin City Hurricanes and Dublin Spartans were among those teams and are still (as of 2021) in the Baseball Ireland A-League.

baseball glove and ball
Photo by Alexandro David on

Baseball Ireland Teams

Irish Baseball & Softball Federation 1997-2005; Baseball Ireland 2006-Present

(*) Teams still in existence marked with an asterisk

First Four IBL Teams 1997

Chiefs 1997

Colts 1997

Dodgers 1997

Dukes 1997

Dublin IBL Teams 1998-2006

Panthers 1998-2005

Blue Devils 2001-2004

Trojans 2004-2005

Giants 2005

Dublin IBL / Baseball Ireland Teams 1998-Present

Dublin City Hurricanes 1998-2020 (*)

Dublin Spartans 1998-2020 (*)

Dublin Black Sox 2001-2017

Twins 2006-2007

Belfast IBL / Baseball Ireland Teams 1997-Present

Belfast NorthStars 1997-2020 (*)

Belfast Wolves 2004-2006

International IBL / Baseball Ireland Teams 1999-2014

DiMaggios 1999

Tigers 2003-2004

Dublin City Indios 2008

Dublin Tigers 2014

Leinster Provincial Teams 2002-2022

Greystones Mariners 2002-2020

Munster Teams 2008-2020

Cork Druids 2008

Munster Warriors 2009-2013

West Clare Dolphins 2010-2016

Ulster Provincial Teams 2010-2020

Cavan Comets 2010-2020

Baseball Ireland Awards & Records

Baseball Ireland honours outstanding achievements in the Irish Baseball League.

man holding baseball bat
Photo by Tim Eiden on

Irish Baseball League Awards & Records

Irish Baseball League Awards; IBL Timeline

Baseball Ireland Irish Baseball League Awards (Seasons):



Irish Baseball League Expansion 1961-present