Basketball Ireland National League Women’s Super League 2016-2019

BI Women’s Super League 2016-17

*Ambassador UCC Glanmire16142115690942
*Courtyard Liffey Celtics16124110392236
*DCU Mercy16115106089433
*Pyrobel Killester16971040101027
Maxol WIT Wildcats168889086324
Portlaoise Panthers16881016102224
Singleton SuperValu Brunell16511936107815
NUIG Mystics1631382710959


DateHome TeamAway Team
25.03.2017Courtyard Liffey Celtics62DCU Mercy55
25.03.2017Ambassador UCC Glanmire72Pyrobel Killester58
Final (Letterkenny IT)
01.04.2017Ambassador UCC54Courtyard Liffey Celtics64


BI Women’s Super League 2017-18

*Courtyard Liffey Celtics16132109194039
*DCU Mercy16124115587436
*Ambassador UCC Glanmire16124128597136
*Pyrobel Killester161151138102933
Singleton SuperValu Brunell161061141110730
Maxol WIT Wildcats165111005112615
IT Carlow Basketball16412985120212
Portlaoise Panthers16412893117212
NUIG Mystics1611584611183


DateHome TeamAway team
19.03.2018DCU Mercy60Ambassador UCC Glanmire72
19.03.2018Courtyard Liffey Celtics80Pyrobel Killester60
24.03.2018Courtyard Liffey Celtics63Ambassador UCC Glanmire76


BI Women’s Super League 2018-19

*Courtyard Liffey Celtics181621321106748
*DCU Mercy181351271101439
*Fr. Mathews181261263116336
*Singleton SuperValu Brunell181081211116030
Ambassador UCC Glanmire181081315122030
Maxl WIT Wildcats181081175116230
Pyrobel Killester181081357127730
IT Carlow Basketball185131043124815
Marble City Hawks18414972122912
NUIG Mystics1801892313110


DateHome TeamAway team
23.03.19Fr. Mathews72Maxol WIT Wildcats53
23.03.19Singleton SuperValu Brunell70Ambassador UCC Glanmire62
31.03.19Courtyard Liffey Celtics71Singleton SuperValu Brunell69
31.03.19DCU Mercy39Fr. Mathews57
14.04.19Courtyard Liffey Celtics70Fr. Mathews83



The Women’s Top Division reverted to the Super League brand in 2016-17, with UCC Glanmire winning the League title, though falling in the Champions Trophy Playoff Final, 64-54 to Liffey Celtics of Dublin. The following season was a reverse of the previous one, as Liffey Celtics won the League title, but lost the Champions Trophy Final 76-63 to UCC Glanmire.

Liffey Celtics again won the League title in 2018-19, but again lost the Playoff Final, as Fr. Mathews, another Cork team, won the Champions Trophy 83-70




[1] Basketball Ireland (2017) Women’s Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 March 2017]

[2] Basketball Ireland (2017) Women’s Super League Playoffs [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 March 2017]

[3] Basketball Ireland (2017) News [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 3 April 2017]

[4] Basketball Ireland (2018) Womens Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 March 2018]

[5] Basketball Ireland (2018) Womens Super Top 4 PO [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 March 2018]

[6] Basketball Ireland (2018) Womens Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 June 2018]

[7] Basketball Ireland (2018) WNLC Champions Trophy [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 June 2019]


Thanks to Ann Hanley, Killester and Ireland National Team.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish Basketball Archive

Last Updated: 18 June 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply