Canadian Rugby Union Senior Champions 1892-1908

CRU Senior Champions 1892-1908

1892Osgoode HallMontréal AAAToronto
1893Queen’s UniversityMontréal AAAMontréal
1894Ottawa CollegeQueen’s UniversityToronto
1895University of TorontoMontréal AAAMontréal
1896Ottawa CollegeUniversity of TorontoToronto
1897Ottawa CollegeHamilton TigersMontréal
1898Ottawa Rough RidersOttawa CollegeOttawa
1899no decision  
1900Ottawa Rough RidersBrockvilleBrockville
1901Ottawa CollegeToronto ArgonautsMontréal
1902Ottawa Rough RidersOttawa CollegeOttawa
1903no decision  
1904no decision  
1905University of TorontoOttawa Rough RidersToronto
1906Hamilton TigersMcGill UniversityMontréal
1907Montreal AAAPeterboroughMontréal
1908Hamilton TigersUniversity of TorontoToronto
Canadian Rugby Union Senior Champions 1892-1908 [References: See References Section Below]


The second attempt at a truly Canadian Football Championship spanned 1892 to 1908 as the Canadian Rugby Union played a Senior Championship Game between the Ontario and Quebec Rugby Union Champions. Osgoode Hall won the Championship in 1892, Queen’s University in 1893, Ottawa College won three of the next four with the University of Toronto Champions in 1895 and then a more familiar name, Ottawa Rough Riders took the title in 1898, 1900 and 1902. There was no decision in 1899 and in 1901 Ottawa College won it back. Again in 1903 and 1904 there was no decision, before the University of Toronto again won in 1905. Hamilton Tigers, later to merge with Hamilton Wildcats to form Hamilton Tiger-Cats, were Champions in 1906 and 1908, with Montreal AAA winning the intervening Championship. In 1909 a new era was born when Earl Grey donated the Cup named after him to be played for the Canadian Championship, which has since passed into the sole ownership of the Canadian Football League.

References (Canadian Football Almanac 1875-2012 – David Stewart-Candy & Dave Clamen)


Ontario Rugby Football Union
Québec Rugby Football Union
Western Canada Rugby Football Union
Manitoba Rugby Football Union
Saskatchewan Rugby Football Union
Alberta Rugby Football Union
British Columbia Rugby Football Union
Canadian Intercollegiate Rugby Football Union
Kingston Rugby Football League
Winnipeg Rugby Football League
Intermediate Champions
CFL Attendance Statistics – All Teams for 1982, 1983, 1986 and 1987
Calgary Stampeders Attendance Statistics 1979
Edmonton Eskimo Attendance Statistics 1966-1987
Montréal Alouettes Attendance Statistics 1977
CFL versus NFL Scores
kindly supplied by David Clamen
Thornhill, Ontario

Canadian Football League Facts Figures & Records 1986 Edition
Canadian Football League Facts Figures & Records 1994 Edition
Canadian Football League Facts Figures & Records 1995 Edition
Canadian Football League Facts Figures & Records 1996 Edition
Canadian Football League Facts Figures & Records 1997 Edition
published by Canadian Football League
Fifth Floor
110 Elginton Avenue West
Toronto, Ontario
M4R 1A3
1986-1997 Canadian Football League

Canadian Football League

Canadian Football – The Grey Cup Years
written by Frank Cosentino
published by Musson Book Company Limited
Don Mills, Ontario
1969 Frank Cosentino

A Passing Game – A History of the CFL
written by Frank Cosentino
published by Bain & Cox
Winnipeg, Manitoba
1995 Frank Cosentino

100 Years of Canadian Football
written by Gordon Currie
published by Pagurian Press Limited
Toronto, Ontario
1968 Pagurian Press Limited

Rider Pride – The Story of Canada’s Best-Loved Football Team
written by Bob Calder and Garry Andrews
published by Western Producer Prairie Books
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Gael Force – A Century of Football At Queen’s
written by Merv Daub
published by McGill-Queen’s University Press
Montréal, Québec & Kingston, Ontario

1995 British Columbia Lions Media Guide
1996 British Columbia Lions Media Guide
published by Jim Dorash
1996 British Columbia Lions Football Club

Montréal Alouettes Guide Média / Media Guide ’86
published by Club de Football Les Alouettes de Montréal

Ottawa Rough Riders ’87 Media Guide / Guide Média
published by the Ottawa Rough Riders Football Club
 1987

Ottawa Rough Riders 1995 Fact Book
published by the Ottawa Rough Riders Football Club
1995 Ottawa Rough Riders

Toronto Argonauts ’89 Yearbook & Media Guide
published by the Toronto Argonauts Football Club
 1989

Sports Logo Guide – Third Edition
written by John M. Fulgano
published by The Sports Fanatic
San Ramon, California
1997 John M Fulgaro

The Vancouver Sun
October 24th 1998
published by Pacific Press
Vancouver, British Columbia

1997 & 1998 Attendance
kindly supplied courtesy of the Saskatchewan Roughriders Football Club

Canadian Junior Football League

Ottawa Rough Riders Fan Page

Professional Football Researchers Association

University of Western Ontario Mustangs

Many thanks to Jim Stevenson (Statistician – Ontario Football Conference) for kindly providing OFC material for 1984 to 2000
Many thanks to Mitch Soivenski of Hampton, New Hampshire for submitting errata corrections


Thanks to David Stewart-Candy

About this document

Data Compiled by Dave Stewart-Candy & Dave Clamen, (Canadian Football Almanac 1875-2012, unpublished, Vancouver 2012).

Text Written by Enda Mulcahy

Kindly given to and edited by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 17 March 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply