Category: 2017 Yearbook

Craigavon Cowboys | Irish American Football Team | 2017 Season Results & Roster

Craigavon Cowboys Logo

IAFL-1 Conference Team 2017

Home Ground: People’s Park, Portadown, Craigavon

Colours: Blue / Orange / White

Honours 2017: IAFL-1 Conference Division Champons / IAFL-1 Bowl Runners-Up

Record 2017: (P-W-L-T-PF-PA-Pts) RS: 8-7-1-0-207-75-14 / PS: 2-1-1-0-62-60-2

Review: The Craigavon Cowboys won the IAFL-1 Conference League Title but fell short in the IAFL-1 Bowl 18-23 to the Louth Mavericks to end the season on a disappointing note.

They won their first 6 games, often by comfortable scores, twice beating West Dublin Rhinos, and getting four wins against Leinster teams – Wexford Eagles (twice), Westmeath Minotaurs and Louth Mavericks.

Their unbeaten record, however, was lost in their 7th match, when they went down at home to Ulster rivals Donegal Derry Vipers. They gained revenge the following week in Derry, and then won the Semi-Final against Wexford Eagles in a shootout, 44-37, but were unable to repeat their regular season victory over the Louth Mavericks in the Bowl, losing 18-23.


Home Venue Map

Links to Year-By-Year Rosters and Match Reports


IAFL-1 Conference 2017 Final Table


*Craigavon Cowboys87102077514
*Donegal Derry Vipers86201469112
*Louth Mavericks853013611710
*Wexford Eagles84401931928
Westmeath Minotaurs83501351566
West Dublin Rhinos83501081326
South Kildare Soldiers8080972590




402.04.17AWestmeath MinotaursW31-6
623.04.17HWexford EaglesW42-21
730.04.17HLouth MavericksW20-7
914.05.17HWest Dublin RhinosW24-0
1128.05.17AWexford EaglesW40-13
1204.06.17AWest Dublin RhinosW18-7
1602.07.17HDonegal Derry VipersL20-21
1816.07.17ADonegal Derry VipersW12-0
SF23.07.17HWexford EaglesW44-37
1B20.08.17NLouth MavericksL18-23

Reference: [1][2][3][4]




PlayerPositionTD PassTD RecTD Run2XP Pass2XP Rec

2XP Run

Peter LoughranQB / LB7612342168
Josh MarchbanksQB100370092
Ben FallonWR04004032
Shayne MoneLB01300126
Jo BuchananLB01200018
Andy HerronRB00210116
Gavin McConnellDB02001014
Anton NultyWR02001014
Ryan WhitesideWR0100108

Reference: [5]

Roster 2017


Greg LoughranHead Coach
Josh MarchbanksOffensive Co-Ordinator
Jo BuchananDefensive Co-Ordinator
Niall QuinnSpecial Teams Co-Ordinator
Gareth McShaneLinebacker/ Fullback
Andrew HerronRunning Back
Gavin McConnellDefensive Back
Jonny MageeLineman
Carmine FictolaLineman
Peter LoughranQuarterback / Linebacker
Jakub KowalczykDefensive Back
Tiarnan CuddyRunning Back
Manny BellLineman
Jason DuddyLineman
Lawrence RuddockDefensive Back
James LoughranLineman
Ryan WhitesideWide Receiver
Ben FallonWide Receiver
Paul McCartneyQuarterback
Jonny MartinLineman/Linebacker
Ryan McKennaWide Receiver
Thomas PollockCornerback
Sean ByrneDefensive End
James RolstonSafety
Jo BuchananLinebacker
Anton NultyWide Receiver
Shayne MoneLinebacker
Josh MarchbanksQuarterback
Niall QuinnDefensive Back
Brian ComaskeyLineman
Anthony McCardleLineman

References: [6]






[1] Irish American Football Association (2017) IAFL-1 Conference Standings [Accessed 24 July 2017]

[2] Irish American Football Association Facebook Page (2017) Facebook Post July 23 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 July 2017]

[3] IAFA Ireland Facebook Page (2017) Facebook Post August 27 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 August 2017]

[4] IAFA Ireland Facebook Page (2017) Facebook Post August 20 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 August 2017]

[5] Craigavon Cowboys (2017) 2017 Scoring Chart [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 March 2018]

[6] Craigavon Cowboys (2017) 2017 Roster [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 March 2018]





Thanks to .


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 2 July 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.