Category: Gridiron South Australia

Gridiron South Australia Seniors 1986-1989

GSA 1986

*Eastside Razorbacks981025257.889
*Brighton Breakers972019671.778
Port Adelaide Spartans936095174.333
Southern District Longhorns909016257.000
Gridiron South Australia Seniors 1986 [Reference: 1]
DateHome TeamAway Team
Plate Final
16.03.1986Port Adelaide Spartans16Southern District Longhorns13
16.03.1986Eastside Razorbacks36Brighton Breakers12
Gridiron South Australia Playoffs 1986 [Reference: 1]

GSA 1987

*Brighton Breakers8800283311.000
*Eastside Razorbacks862021067.750
Port Adelaide Spartans835066184.375
Southern District Longhorns808027283.000
Gridiron South Australia Seniors 1987 [Reference: 2]
DateHome TeamAway Team
Plate Final
28.02.1987Port Adelaide Spartans10Southern District Longhorns0
Elimination Final
28.02.1987Eastside Razorbacks35Eagles0
07.03.1987Eastside Razorbacks7Brighton Breakers6
Gridiron South Australia Playoffs 1987 [Reference: 2]

GSA 1988

*Port Adelaide Spartans870124946.938
*Eastside Razorbacks861125848.813
*Brighton Breakers844021253.500
Southern District Longhorns808012424.000
Gridiron South Australia Seniors 1988 [Reference: 3]
DateHome TeamAway Team
29.02.1988Brighton Breakers7Port Adelaide Spartans28
05.03.1988Eastside Razorbacks0Port Adelaide Spartans18
Gridiron South Australia Playoffs 1988 [Reference: 3]

GSA 1989

*Brighton Breakers101000378731.000
*Port Adelaide Spartans1073030739.700
*Brighton Breakers10730348105.700
Adelaide Chiefs10460232146.400
Southern District Longhorns1028061450.200
Elizabeth Lions10010043556.000
Gridiron South Australia Seniors 1989 [Reference: 4]
DateHome TeamAway Team
04.03.1989Port Adelaide Spartans12Brighton Breakers30
11.03.1989Eastside Razorbacks28Brighton Breakers12
Gridiron South Australia Playoffs 1989 [Reference: 4]


Gridiron, or American Football, was first played in South Australia in 1986. The Eastside Razorbacks won the first Championship 36-12 over the Brighton Breakers. The other two teams in the League the inaugural season were the Port Adelaide Spartans and Southern District Longhorns. They were joined by the Eagles for the second season, and the Razorbacks repeated as Champions, winning 7-6, again against the Breakers.

There were no new teams in 1988, and the Port Adelaide Spartans upset the status quo, beating two-time defending Champions the Eastside Razorbacks 18-0 in the Final. The 1989 season saw an expansion to six teams as the Elizabeth Lions entered the fray. The Razorbacks won back their title 28-12, against the Brighton Breakers, yet again – the third time in four years they had beaten them in the Final.



[1] Gridiron South Australia (2001) Season 1 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 July 2001][Broken Link]

[2] Gridiron South Australia (2001) Season 2 [Internet] Available from:[Accessed 12 July 2001][Broken Link]

[3] Gridiron South Australia (2001) Season 3 [Internet] Available from:[Accessed 12 July 2001][Broken Link]

[4] Gridiron South Australia (2001) Season 4 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 July 2001][Broken Link]


Thanks to Alan Delaney.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 February 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.