Continental American Football Leagues

Canadian Rugby Union (1907-1958)

The Interprovincial Rugby Football Union (IRFU), the Big Four (Hamilton Tigers, Toronto Argonauts, Ottawa Rough Riders and Montreal Football Club), The Grey Cup was donated in 1909 by the Earl of Grey, for which only Canadian Rugby Union members may play for. The CFL’s version of the Super Bowl, and since the 1950s has been in the sole possession of the CFL, when the sport broke away from the Canadian Rugby Union and formed its own League, with the Cup dating back to the late-nineteenth century.

Canadian Football is 12-a-side as opposed to 11-a-side in standard American Football, with a 110-yard field, with two 20-yard endzones (whereas in American Football it is 100-yards long with two 15-yard endzones). in Canadian Football teams also have only three downs (attempts) in which to gain 10 yards before the ball is turned over as opposed to 4 in American Football. There is also the “Rouge” – 1 Point scored when the ball is kicked out the back of the endzone.

Canadian Football League 1950-1959

Canadian Football League Internationals:

National Football League v Canadian Football League 1950-1969

Canadian Football League Major Era (1958-Present):

Canadian Football League 1993-1995

Canadian Football League 2001-2009

Canadian Football League (Seasons):

2019 2020

Canadian Football League Timelines:

Canadian Football League Timeline 1869-present

Canadian Football League Expansion 1869-present

Mexican American Football Leagues

Mexican Pro-Leagues:

Futbol Americano (Mexico) Asociacion 2014-2016

Liga Futbol Americano (Mexico) 2016-2019

Liga Football Americano Mexico (Seasons):

2019 2020

Japanese American Football

Japan (Overviews):

Japan American Football Association | Japan American Football Championship | Rice Bowl 1984-2019

Japan American Football Association | X-League 2017-2019

European Continental Leagues:

World League of American Football 1991-1992 (Teams in USA, Montreal, Canada)

American Football League of Europe 1994-1995 (Teams in Northern & Central Europe)

World League of American Football 1995-1997 (Teams in Western & Central Europe)

National Football League Europe 1998-2007 (Teams in Germany & Western Europe)

Image References
Header Image

[1] Irish American Football Association (2018) Nostalgia – A look a some pictures from the archives [Internet] Available from:×768.jpg [Accessed 3 July 2018]

Featured Image

[2] Canadian Football League (2006) “Missing CFL Kicker reappears” [Duncan O’Mahony] [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 10 March 2019]