European Federation of American Football Dutch Invitational Tournament 1997-1998

EFAF Logo [References: 1]


DateHome TeamAway Team
1997 TournamentVenue: Hilversum, Neth
12.04.1997Hilversum Hurricanes (Neth)14Gateshead Senators (Eng)16
13.04.1997Hoorn Unicorns (Neth)8Gateshead Senators (Eng)30
1998 TournamentVenue: Hilversum, Neth
12.04.1998.Hilversum Hurricanes (Neth)8Gateshead Senators (Eng)9
[References: 2-3]


The Gateshead Senators won the Dutch Invitational Trophy in American Football in 1997 and 1998. The Trophy was named after the Senator’s Dutch-born Defensive Back Wimmy Vantergouw. In 1997 they defeated Hilversum Hurricanes and Hoorn Unicorns, and in 1998 repeated with a narrow 9-8 victory over the Hilversum Hurricanes.



[1] American Football International (2013) EFAF Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2017]


[2] Anon. (1997) “Gateshead win Dutch Tournament” First Down. 19 April, 1997. Pg.

[3] Anon. (1998) “Senators Roar To Dutch Crown” First Down. Saturday, April 18, 1998. pg. 10.


Thanks to Ralph Schmeer.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 15 April 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply