European Federation of American Football National Bowls 1995

European Federation of American Football Logo [Ref: 9]

National Bowls 1995

IrelandShamrock XDublin Tornadoes44Carrickfergus Knights12
EnglandBAFA Div. 1Birmingham Bulls34London Olympians30
ScotlandSGA FinalGlasgow Lions76Granite City Oilers0
ItalySuper XVLegnano Frogs32Gladiatori Roma26
FranceCasque DiamantAix-en-Provence Argonautes36Paris-Castor-Sphinx16
AustriaAustrian Levi’s Graz Giants26Vienna Vikings20
SwedenSuper SeriesSolna Chiefs22Limhamn Griffins0
FinlandMaple XVIHelsinki Roosters36East City Giants14
BelgiumChampionship*Tournai Cardinals8-2Brussels8-2
SwitzerlandSwissBern Grizzlies29Geneva Seahawks21
EFAF National Bowls 1996 [Ref: 2-8]

Note: *The Belgian Championship was decided on Points Difference after both Tournai and Brussels finished on 8-2 Wins-Losses Records. The Belgian League was decided on a League basis with no Bowl Game.


The winners of European American Football’s National Bowl Games in 1995 were Dublin Tornadoes, 44-12 over Carrickfergus Knights in Shamrock Bowl X in Ireland, Glasgow Lions in a comprehensive 76-0 win over Granite City Oilers (Aberdeen) in the Scottish Final, Birmingham Bulls 34-30 in a close BAFA Division Final over London Olympians in England.

In Italy Legnano Frogs defeated Roma Gladiatori 32-26, and in France the Aix-en-Provence Argonautes triumphed 36-16 over Paris Castor-Sphinx with 36 unanswered points in the first half before 7,000 fans in Paris. Levi’s Graz Giants won the Austrian Bowl for a record 7th time against defending Champions Vienna Vikings 26-20.

In Scandinavian Bowls, Solna Chiefs were the shock winners of the Swedish Super Series, defeating Limhamn Griffins 22-0, while the Maple Bowl in Finland went to Helsinki Roosters, who won 36-14 against East City Giants.

In Western Europe, Tournai Cardinals won the Belgian Championship on points difference from Brussels, after both teams finished the season with 8-2 Wins-Losses Records (there was n Bowl Game in Belgium with the Champions decidedon a League basis. Bern Grizzlies won the Swiss Bowl 29-21 against Geneva Seahawks. [Ref: 2-8]



[1] American Football International (2013) EFAF Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2017]


[2] Irish American Football Association (2019) Shamrock Bowl Winners [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 August 2019]

[3] Bitball Now (2016) British Champions List [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 July 2020]

[4] Enciclopedia del Football Italiano (2018) Federazione Italiana American Football 1995 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 July 2020]

[5] Federazione Italiana de American Football (1999) Albo d’oro del Superbowl [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 3 August 2000][Broken Link – Available on the Wayback Machine Internet Archive at: Accessed 11 July 2020]


[5] Anon. (1996) “European Finals” First Down. September 30, 1995. pg. 21


[6[ SAJL (2020) Sarja=1 Kausi=1995 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 July 2020]

[7] Football Austria (2020) Oesterreichische Meister [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 April 2020]

Internet Archive

[8] SAFV (2005) [Meistershaft][Spielplan 1995] [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 5 June 2020][Click links for Spielplan 1994]


Thanks to Ralph Schmeer (IAFOA)

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 11 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply