GAA Poc Fada | Hurling Roll of Honour 1961-2017

Roll of Honour 1961-2017


Year Winner County
1961 Vincent Godfrey Limerick
1962 Ollie Walsh Kilkenny
1963 (co) Ollie Walsh Kilkenny
1963 (co) Tom Geary Waterford
1963 (co) Dinny Donnelly Meath
1964 Oliver Gough Kilkenny
1965 Denis Murphy Cork
1966 Finbar O’Neill Cork
1967 Finbar O’Neill Cork
1968 Finbar O’Neill Cork
1969 Liam Tobin Waterford
1970-80 No competition
1981 Pat Hartigan Limerick
1982 Gerry Goodwin Tyrone
1983 Pat Hartigan Limerick
1984 Ger Cunningham Cork
1985 Ger Cunningham Cork
1986 Ger Cunningham Cork
1987 Ger Cunningham Cork
1988 Ger Cunningham Cork
1989 Ger Cunningham Cork
1990 Ger Cunningham Cork
1991 Tommy Quaid Limerick
1992 Albert Kelly Offaly
1993 Albert Kelly Offaly
1994 Michael Shaughnessy Galway
1995 Michael Shaughnessy Galway
1996 Michael Shaughnessy Galway
1997 Colin Byrne Wicklow
1998 Albert Kelly Offaly
1999 Davy Fitzgerald Clare
2000 Colin Byrne Wicklow
2001 Albert Shanahan Limerick
2002 Davy Fitzgerald Clare
2003 Paul Dunne Louth
2004 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2005 Albert Shanahan Limerick
2006 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2007 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2008 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2009 Gerry Fallon Roscommon
2010 Graham Clarke Down
2011 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2012 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2013 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2014 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2015 Brendan Cummins Tipperary
2016 J. McInerney Clare
2017 Tadhg Haran Galway





An Poc Fada – ‘the Long Puck’ is a Gaelic Game where players use a Hurley to hit a Sliotar (ball) up the side of a mountain and down the other side in as few pucks or shots as possible.

The sport would have a similar origin to the Scottish Game of Golf.

Since 1961 when the All-Ireland Championship was inaugurated there have been 13 counties represented on the Hurling Roll of Honour – Clare, Cork, Down, Galway, Kilkenny, Limerick, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Roscommon, Tipperary, Tyrone, and Waterford.

The great Cork Hurler Ger Cunningham won 7-in-a-row from 1984-1990 and Brendan Cummins of Tipperary won 5-in-a-row from 2011-2015 and 3-in-a-row from 2006-2008, with another title in 2004 setting a record 9 titles. The 3-in-a-row has also been achieved by Finbar O’Neill of Cork from 1966-1968 and Galway’s Michael Shaughnessy in the years 1994-1996.







[1] GAA (2017) – “The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games – Full GAA Records from 1887 to 2017 Inclusive DBA Publications Limted, Dublin.




[2] GAA Poc Fada Twitter Account (2018) GAA Poc Fada Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 9 June 2018]




Thanks to Tom Dunne, Kilkenny


About this document


Prepared and maintained by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 13 January 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply