Indoor Football Leagues

Indoor Football

Indoor Football, also known as Arena Football was developed in 1986 as an 8v8 form of Indoor American Football. After an initial few seasons where the game was developed with a 4 team league, a full seasons League with eventually over a dozen teams was developed in the 1990 which was considered by the Wall Street Journal to be a fifth major.

The Arena Football League over-expanded in the 2000s with a Minor League, and its importance (and number of teams) waned since it first experienced financial diffulties  in 2009, and it ceased operations after the 2019 season due to the legacy debt incurred.

There is now, however, Indoor Football Leagues all over America, all of which would now be considered Minor League or Semi-Pro (AAA, AA, or even A)

Indoor Football is played on a 50-yard field with two 8-yard endzones, and teams have 5 downs (attempts) to reach the endzone or the ball is turned over. 3 of those downs must be passing plays, making Indoor Football highly explosive and high scoring.

Note: For Women’s Indoor Football Leagues, including both Serious Leagues such as the Super 8 Football League in Baja California (Mexico) and Lingerie/Legends Football Leagues (where the Women wear sexy apparel) see Women’s American Football

Note 2: The American grading system for Pro Leagues is 1. Major League, 2. AAA League, 3. AA League, 4. A League, 5. Semi-Pro State Leagues (equivalent to 1. Premier League / Major League Soccer, 2. EFL/USL Championship, 3. EFL/USL League 1, 4. EFL/USL League 2, and 5. National League/NPSL in the English and American Soccer System).

AAA Arena Football Leagues:

(Overviews): Final Tables & Playoff Results organised on a decade-by-decade or era-by-era basis.

(Seasons): Results & Standings organised on a season-by-season basis. The League Seasons give just that Leagues Results & Standings for the given year i.e. National Arena League 2019 gives just the 2019 season results and Standings for the NAL.

Indoor Football League (Overviews):

Indoor Football League 2009-2011

Indoor Football League (Seasons):

2019 2020

Arena Football League (AAA National Leagues):

Arena Football League 1987-1991

Arena Football League 1992-2000

Arena Football League (Seasons):


AA Indoor Football Leagues (Season Overviews)

The AA Arena Football League Season Overviews give the Final Standings of each of the Leagues for the given years (i.e. all 2-3 AA Arena Leagues per year)


AA Indoor Football Leagues (National):

Professional Indoor Football League (Overview):

Professional Indoor Football League 1998-2001

AA Indoor Football Leagues (East) 

Eastern Indoor Football Leagues (Overviews):

Professional Indoor Football League 2012-2015

National Arena League 2017-Present

National Arena League (Seasons):

2019 2020

AA Indoor Football Leagues (Mid-West):

AA Indoor Football Leagues (South):

Southern Indoor Football Leagues (Overviews):

Lone Star Football League 2012-2014

Champions Indoor Football 2015-Present

Champions Indoor Football (Seasons):


AA Indoor Football Leagues (West):

American West Football Conference (Seasons):


A Mexican-American Indoor Football Leagues

Super 8 Football League Baja (Overview):

Super 8 Football League Baja 2012-Present

Super 8 Football League West Coast (Overview):

Super 8 Football League West Coast 2016-Present

Super 8 Football League Tournaments (Overview):

Super 8 Football League Bowls & Tournaments 2010-Present

Super 8 Football League Tournaments (Seasons):

Winter Bowl 2015 Copa Tijuana 2017 Eight Man Outdoor 2020

World Arena Football Leagues

World Arena Leagues (Overviews):

China Arena Football League 2016-2019

China Arena Football League (Seasons):