International American Football – Green Isle All-Stars 0 Marlboro Shamrocks 36 – Box-Score and Match Report 29 November 1986

Green Isle All-Stars 0 Marlboro Shamrocks 36

At Glenalbyn, Dublin – The Marlboro Shamrocks, from Boston, Massachusetts, became the first ever US visitors to play an Irish team when in 1986 they took on and defeated an Irish American Football Championship All-Stars side, the Green Isle All-Stars, 36-0. With Billy Lefreniere, a former New York Giants trialist, outstanding for the Shamrocks, scoring three touchdowns in the first half, including an 85 yard run, the Boston team constantly put the Irish team under pressure. Despite good work by Mark Harris, Chris Millar and Martin Murphy, the All-Stars could not prevent Gene Massa hauling in a 3 yard touchdown in the third quarter. Paul Sharon added the visitors fourth touchdown while four Point After Touchdowns from five attempts by Pat Caruso and a Safety in the final quarter completed the scoring for the Shamrocks.

At Glenalbyn, DublinQ1Q2Q3Q4Total
Marlboro Shamrocks36
Green Isle All-Stars00000
[References: 1]
1st Quarter
MARBilly Lafreniere TD0-6
MARBilly Lafreniere TD0-12
2nd Quarter
MARBilly Lafreniere 85 Run0-18
3rd Quarter
MARGene Massa 3 yd Pass from ??0-24
MARPaul Sharon TD0-34
4th Quarter
MARDefensive Safety0-36
Quarter ??
MARPat Caruso 4 PATS0-36
[References: 1]



[1] Anon. (1986) “Marlboro Burn Up Stars” Sunday Press, November 30. 1986. pg 43.


[3] Britball Now (2016) History of the Game in Ireland [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 02 October 2016]

[4] Britball Now (2008) UK Clubs Against Foreign Opposition [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 16 November 2008]


Thanks to John Malone, Declan Mulvey, Mark, Paul McEnnis, Gareth Moore.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 2 May 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply