International Australian Rules

Australian Rules has been played in Ireland since 2000, when the first clubs were formed in Dublin and Belfast.

There is currently the full 21-a-side Men’s Premiership, Super 9s/10s and a Women’s Super 7s.

Ireland also enters the European Championship and International Cup. the Leprechaun Cup, an International Cup is also hosted in Belfast, and Irish Universities enter the Fitzpatrick Cup for the European University Title.

There is also International Rules between Ireland and Australia which has been played since 1984 with the first touring sides visiting Ireland in the 1960s.

Below you will find links to the Results and Tables of various International Competitions involving Irish Teams:

International Australian Rules

Australian Football League International

AFL International Cup (Edition):


Australian Football League Europe:

AFLE Fitzpatrick Cup (Seasons):


AFLE Fitzpatrick Cup Women (Seasons):


Other International Australian Rules Competitions

AFLE London Footy Carnival (Seasons):


Australian Rules Football League of Ireland (International)

There have been a number of International Australian Rules Competitions held in Ireland, including the Leprechaun Cup in Belfast, which is an annual men’s club preseason blitz.

ARFLI Leprechaun Cup (Seasons):


International Rules Football

Ireland has been competing in the International Rules in Football since the 1960s when the Galahs Australian Football representative side toured Ireland, playing what are known as Compromise Rules in Ireland, and Inter Footy in Australia – a Football Code taking in elements of both Gaelic Football and Australian Football Codes.

Football | Ireland v Australia:

International Rules Football | Ireland v Australia 1984-2017

International Rules Football | Ireland v Australia 1984-1990

International Rules Football | Ireland v Australia 1998-2006

International Rules Football | Ireland v Australia 2008-2017

Football | Irish Counties v Galahs:

International Rules Football | Irish Counties v Galahs 1967-1978