Ireland Lacrosse Men’s

Ireland Lacrosse Logo [Ref: 1]

Men’s Lacrosse

Men’s Lacrosse is a 10-v-10 version of the game, originally played by Native Americans in the Eastern Woodlands cultural region of Native North America (Eastern Canada & Upstate New York, New England).

The first known team in Ireland was in Newtownards, Co. Down, and there was a Championship in Ireland from the late 19th Century to World War I, and it was then resurrected in the early 2000s, with an International team, and the Irish Lacrosse League. The Newtownards Cup is also now played, named after the town with the first club.

Federation of International Lacrosse

FIL Men’s World Lacrosse Championships (Editions): 2002 2006 2018

European Lacrosse Federation

ELF Men’s European Lacrosse Championships (Editions): 2001 2004

ELF Men’s U20 European Lacrosse Championships (Editions): 2019

Celtic Cup

Celtic Cup (Editions): 2005 2009 2013

International Lacrosse Union

International Lacrosse Union Ireland v England 1881-1899

Representative Internationals

Irish Counties v South of England Representative Lacrosse Matches 1901

Irish Lacrosse Union

The Irish Lacrosse Union was the Men’s Lacrosse Association in Ireland from the Late 19th to Early 20th Centuries. The Senior shield was the first level league competition.

Like the Gaelic Athletic Association, the Irish Lacrosse Union season was divided into an opening season (Shield – League Competition), and closing season (Flags – Knockout / Elimination Competition). The Irish Lacrosse Union had two Adult levels (Senior and Junior), and a representative competition (Shaftesbury Cup) between County Down and County Antrim. It was Men’s only. (see links to each competition and season for results, more information and references).

Shaftesbury Cup (Co. Down v Co. Antrim – Seasons): 1900

Irish Lacrosse Union 1870-1914

Irish Lacrosse Union | Championship of Ireland 1890-1897

ILU Senior Flags (1st Level – Knockout Championship – Seasons): 1900

ILU Junior Flags (2nd Level – Knockout Championship – Seasons): 1900

ILU Senior Shield (1st Level League – Seasons): 1900

ILU Junior Shield (2nd Level League- Seasons): 1900

ILU Gibb Cup (All Teams Knockout – Seasons): 1893 1894 1895

ILU Preseason Friendlies (Seasons): 1900

Ireland Lacrosse

After the Irish Lacrosse Union disappeared around the First world War, and the Irish Ladies Lacrosse Association from 1926-1970 had also disbanded, the third wave of Lacrosse in Ireland was the revival of Ireland Lacrosse in the early 21st Century, featuring Men’s Women’s and Box (Indoor Lacrosse).

Ireland Lacrosse (Men’s) Overview:

Irish Lacrosse League 2009-2016

Ireland Lacrosse | Men’s Newtownards Cup 2010-2017

Irish Lacrosse League (Seasons):

2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2014 2015 2016 2018

Men’s Newtownards Cup (Seasons):

2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2018

Irish Men’s Lacrosse Teams

Team Histories (Including results) and [ Season Rosters & Match Reports]

Ireland Lacrosse Men’s National Team 2002-Present

Ireland Men’s Lacrosse World Championship: [ Perth 2002 ][ London Ontario 2006 ] [ Manchester England 2010 ][ Denver, Colorado 2014 ][ Israel 2018 ]

Ireland Men’s Lacrosse Celtic Cup: [ Celtic Cup 2013 ]

Dublin Bay Prawns: [ 2011-12 ]

Images References

Header Image

[1] Irish American Football Association (2018) Nostalgia – A look a some pictures from the archives [Internet] Available from:×768.jpg [Accessed 3 July 2018]

Featured Image
[2] Dublin Bay Prawns Facebook Page (2016) Photo April 11, 2016 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 5 January 2018]
Logo Images

[3] Ireland Lacrosse (2015) Ireland Lacrosse Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 6 November 2017]