UCD American Football Ireland College Bowl Winners 2018

Irish American Football Association College Championship 2018

Irish American Football Association Logo [References: 1]

Final Standings

IAFA College Championship 2018PWLTPFPAPts
University College Dublin (C)22001064
Trinity College Dublin211036262
University of Limerick Vikings202018300
[References: 2-3]


DateHome TeamAway Team
18.11.2018University College Dublin8Trinity College Dublin6
18.11.2018Trinity College Dublin28University of Limerick Vikings18
18.11.2018University College Dublin2University of Limerick Vikings0
[References: 2-3]


University College Dublin won back-to-back Irish American Football Association College Championships in 2018, with two narrow victories over Trinity College Dublin, which was decided by a failed two-point conversion (8-6), as TCD came up just short in the dying seconds and the University of Limerick Vikings which was won with a Safety, the only score of the game. In the other match, TCD defeated UL Vikings 28-18 with all four of their touchdowns coming from Rookies.

University College Dublin IAFA College Champions 2018 [Reference: 4]

About the American Football Ireland Intervarsity Championships

The Jordanstown Jaguars, based in Ulster University Jordanstown played in the first full season of the Irish American Football League in 1987. The Trinity Bowl, played from 1992-1995, was the first competition played in Irish Universities, although it did not involve College teams. The Irish Collegiate American Football Association was formed in 1993, and played a Flag Football Summer Bowl over the Summer Holidays, involving both College Students and non-College Students. From 1998 to 1999 the Queen’s University Belfast Broncos competed in the AFAI Irish Senior League, and in 1999 the University of Limerick Vikings were formed, initially as a Flag Football team, and then from 2001 onwards as a fully kitted team playing uin the resurrected IAFL.

The First Colleges and Universities Sports Association of Ireland (CUSAI) Kitted College Bowl was played in 2006, when there was more than one kitted College team for the first time, namely the University of Limerick Vikings and Dublin City University Saints. The College Championship became a three-team tournament involving the Trinity College Dublin Thunderbolts and the University College Dublin Sentinels in 2010 (DCU were no longer fielding a team). In 2014 the Irish American Football Association took over the running of the competition from CUSAI after the CUSAI became Student Sport Ireland and renamed the College Bowl the Intervarsity Championship.



[1] Irish American Football Association (2019) 75572102_2751314071597894_3385769513105489920_n [Internet] Available from: https://www.americanfootball.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/75572102_2751314071597894_3385769513105489920_n.jpg [Accessed 1 December 2020]

Social Media

[2] UCD American Football Facebook Page (2017) Post November 19, 2018 [Internet] Available from: https://www.facebook.com/UcdAmericanFootball/posts/1771978026245808  [Accessed 3 December 2018]

[3] Trinity College Dublin American Football Facebook Page (2017) Post November 18, 2018 [Internet] Available from: https://www.facebook.com/TCDAmericanFootball/posts/2222858881057845 [Accessed 3 December 2018]


[4] UCD American Football Facebook Page (2018) Post November 19, 2018 [Internet] Available from: https://www.facebook.com/UcdAmericanFootball/photos/a.514850931958530/1771976799579264/  [Accessed 3 December 2018]


Thanks to Cillian Smith of the Irish American Football Association

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 6 February 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020-2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply