Irish American Football Association Intervarsities Game Summaries 2013

Irish American Football Association Logo [References: 1]


2013University of Limerick VikingsWUniversity College DublinL
College Bowl VIII
2013Trinity College Dublin12University of Limerick Vikings0
[References: 2]

College Bowl VIII

University of Limerick Vikings 0 Trinity College Dublin 12 – Defending College Bowl Champions Trinity College Dublin travelled down to Limerick in late 2013 to take on the home team University of Limerick Vikings for the Irish American Football Association College Bowl, after the Vikings had a comfortable win over University College Dublin in the morning. TCD shut out UL in a convincing win, with linebacker Gareth O’Shea forcing an early fumble which was the first of many turnovers forced by Trinity in the match. Former Trinity Quarterback turned Defensive End Alex Gurnee forced two fumbles and recorded four Quarterback sacks as well as numerous tackles for a loss of yardage as the TCD defense ran riot. Gurnee also started at Right Tackle for the young TCD Offense as Rookie Quarterback Dan Finamore was able to find receivers Daniel Murphy and Craig Marron on both of Trinity’s successful drives, which were finished off for Touchdown runs in the endzone by David Lunn and Josh Megan. To accomodate two games in one day matches were played with a rolling clock and short quarters.

At University of LimerickQ1Q2Q3Q4Final
Trinity College Dublin12
University of Limerick Vikings00000
[References: 2]
TCDDavid Lunn TD Run6-0
TCDJosh Megan TD Run12-0
[References: 2]

About the American Football Ireland Intervarsity Championships

The Jordanstown Jaguars, based in Ulster University Jordanstown played in the first full season of the Irish American Football League in 1987. The Trinity Bowl, played from 1992-1995, was the first competition played in Irish Universities, although it did not involve College teams. The Irish Collegiate American Football Association was formed in 1993, and played a Flag Football Summer Bowl over the Summer Holidays, involving both College Students and non-College Students. From 1998 to 1999 the Queen’s University Belfast Broncos competed in the AFAI Irish Senior League, and in 1999 the University of Limerick Vikings were formed, initially as a Flag Football team, and then from 2001 onwards as a fully kitted team playing uin the resurrected IAFL.

The First Colleges and Universities Sports Association of Ireland (CUSAI) Kitted College Bowl was played in 2006, when there was more than one kitted College team for the first time, namely the University of Limerick Vikings and Dublin City University Saints. The College Championship became a three-team tournament involving the Trinity College Dublin Thunderbolts and the University College Dublin Sentinels in 2010 (DCU were no longer fielding a team). In 2014 the Irish American Football Association took over the running of the competition from CUSAI after the CUSAI became Student Sport Ireland and renamed the College Bowl the Intervarsity Championship.



[1] Irish American Football Association (2019) 75572102_2751314071597894_3385769513105489920_n [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 1 December 2020]


[2] Trinity News (2014) DUAFC triumph over Limerick Vikings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 27 March 2018]


Thanks to Cillian Smith of the Irish American Football Association, Sean Douglas and Simon Williams.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 6 February 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020-2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply