Irish American Football League 2001-2006

Irish American Football Association Logo 2001-2003

IAFL Winter League 2001

*Dublin Rebels65101423210
*Carrickfergus Knights65101743010
University of Limerick Vikings6150121772
Dublin Dragons6150201092


DateHome Team Away Team 
 Shamrock Bowl XV   
16.12.01Dublin Rebels28Carrickfergus Knights7


IAFL Spring League 2002

*University of Limerick Vikings6510726410
*Carrickfergus Knights6420167468
Dublin Dragons624054954
Dublin Rebels6150401282


DateHome Team Away Team 
 Shamrock Bowl XVI   
16.06.02UL Vikings0Carrickfergus Knights66


IAFL Division 1 2003

*Carrickfergus Knights65101702610
*Dublin Rebels65101853910
Cork Admirals6150681822
Dublin Dragons6150362122


DateHome Team Away Team 
27.07.03Dublin Rebels56Cork Admirals8
 Shamrock Bowl XVII   
10.08.03Carrickfergus Knights12Dublin Rebels24


IAFL Super League 2004

*Dublin Rebels87103008838
*Carrickfergus Knights86112898137
*Belfast Bulls843116110733
*Dublin Dragons83509122930
Cork Admirals #(-3)835012428127
University of Limerick Vikings80803521321


Note: 5 Pts Win/ 4 Pts Tie/ 3 Pts Loss

DateHome Team Away Team 
 Shamrock Bowl XVIII   
29.08.04Dublin Rebels24Carrickfergus Knights22


IAFA Irish American Football League 2005

*Belfast Bulls87101445614
*Dublin Rebels85212349011
*Carrickfergus Knights852129111411
*Cork Admirals83501741886
University of Limerick Vikings8350961746
Dublin Dragons808083010


DateHome Team Away Team 
 Shamrock Bowl XIX   
28.08.05Belfast Bulls19Dublin Rebels26


IAFA Irish American Football League 2006

*Dublin Rebels88002673616
*Carrickfergus Knights862016811512
*University of Limerick Vikings85211565411
*Cork Admirals84311841079
Dublin Dragons8242821236
Belfast Bulls83501422016
Dublin City University Saints81701253242
North Dublin Marshals81701293032


DateHome Team Away Team 
06.08.06Dublin Rebels58Cork Admirals22
06.08.06Carrickfergus Knights25University of Limerick Vikings30
 Shamrock Bowl XX   
20.08.06Dublin Rebels44University of Limerick Vikings12




The first Irish American Football League season took place in 1986. By 2000 nearly all the teams had dropped out and there was no league that year.

In 2001 a new organisation, the Irish American Football Association, led by Cillian Smith, took over the running of the sport. A winter league was started in 2001 with four teams – Dublin Rebels, UL Vikings, Carrickfergus Knights and Dublin Dragons. The Dublin Rebels beat the Knights 28-7 in Shamrock Bowl XV after they both finished the season 5-1.

The 2002 season saw the same four teams compete – with defending champions Dublin Rebels only winning one game, the Shamrock Bowl was played between Carrickfergus and UL Vikings. UL Vikings were without star American players who had guided their dominance of the regular season and they were defeated 66-0 in Shamrock Bowl XVI by the Knights.

In 2003 a new Division 2 was started, playing eight-man football for new teams, while the Cork Admirals would join Division 1. The Rebels won back the Shamrock Bowl, defeating the Knights 24-12.

The 2004 season saw the Division 2 merged with Division 1 into one Super League, bringing in the Belfast Bulls to bring the League up to 6 teams. The Dublin Rebels went 7-1 and again defeated the Knights in Shamrock Bowl XVIII 24-22.

The Belfast Bulls topped the League in 2005 on 7-1, but lost Shamrock Bowl XIX 26-19 to the Rebels, winning their fourth Bowl.

2006 saw an expansion of the League to eight teams as the Dublin City University Saints and North Dublin Marshals joined. Dublin Rebels would go undefeated, posting an 8-0 regular season record before thrashing Cork admirals 58-22 in the Semi-Finals and UL Vikings 44-12 in Shamrock Bowl XX.




[1] Irish American Football Association (2001) 2001 IAFL Standings & Schedule [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 March 2014]

[2] Irish American Football Association (2002) 2002 IAFL Standings & Schedule [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 March 2014]

[3] Irish American Football Association (2003) 2003 Results [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 September 2016]

[4] Irish American Football Association (2004) 2004 Results [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 September 2016]

[5] Irish American Football Association (2005) 2005 Resuults [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 September 2016]

[6] Irish American Football Association (2006) [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 September 2016]

[13] Irish American Football Association (2016) History [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 October 2016]

[14] Irish American Football Association (2018) Shamrock Bowl History [Internet] Available from: h [Accessed 23 March 2018]


[16] Lucky Show – Irish American Football (2016) IAFA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 5 June 2017]


Thanks to Cillian Smith, Michael Smith, Ralph Schmeer and Michael Brophy of the Irish American Football Association and Irish American Football Officials Association and Sean Douglas, Dublin Rebels.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 27 December 2018

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and INAWSA 2018

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply