IAFL Logo 2010-2018

Irish American Football League DV8 Development League 2008-2012

Irish American Football League Logo 2010-2018 [Reference: 11]

IAFL DV8 Development League 2008

*Cork Admirals 2nds651014525525
*Dublin Rebels 2nds651017627424
Craigavon Cowboys651022870424
Dublin Dragons6240149197311
TCD Thunderbolts61507919215
Edenderry Soldiers60603228211


 Home Team Away Team 
 2008Cork Admirals 2nds30Dublin Rebels 2nds0

IAFL DV8 Development League 2009

*Craigavon Cowboys862023658832
Trinity College Dublin #871027934731
UCD Sentinels #8620202115525
Dublin Dragons8350119144315
Erris Rams82604924019
Midlands Soldiers8080629311
[Reference: 3-4]

IAFL DV8 Development League 2010

*Tullamore Phoenix7250  7
Craigavon Cowboys 2nds3300  6
Carrickfergus Knights 2nds2200  4
Erris Rams3120  3
Dublin Rebels 2nds1100  2
University College Dublin 2nds2110  2
IT Carlow Chargers1010  0
Trinity College Dublin 2nds1010  0


Note: IT Carlow Chargers pulled out of the League after losing their sponsor.

Note 2: Blitz 18th July 2010: 2 Pts First (Craigavon) / 1 Pt Second (UCD) / 0 Pts 3rd (Tullamore)

IAFL DV8 Development League 2011

*Tullamore Phoenix6510  10
Drogheda Lightning5230  4
Carrickfergus Knights 2nds2200  4
Craigavon Cowboys 2nds2200  4
Dublin Dragons 2nds3120  2
Trim Bulldogs6060  0


IAFL DV8 Development League 2012

*Drogheda Lightning8431  9
Belfast Trojans 2nds5401  9
Craigavon Cowboys 2nds5410  8
Trim Bulldogs7340  6
Carrickfergus Knights 2nds3210  4
Dublin Dragons 2nds6060  0
Tullamore Phoenix 2nds2020  0


Points System:

2008-2009: 4 Pts Win / 2 Pts Tie / 0 Pts Loss / 1 Bonus Point for Scoring 3 Touchdowns / 1 Bonus Point for coming within 6 points of winner.[3]2010: 2 Pts Win / 1 Pt Loss / 0 Pts Forfeit #

2011-2012: 2 Pts Win / 1 Pt Tie / 0 Pts Loss


The first DV8 Development League was won by Cork Admirals 2nds, who beat Dublin Rebels 2nds 30-0 in the Final. from the on it was just a straight league with the title decided on points. Craigavon Cowboys won the League in 2009, and teams from Regional Leinster won the last three titles – Tullamore Phoenix in 2010 & 2011 and Drogheda Lightning in 2012.


The DV8 Development League was an 8-a-side fully kitted league and was set up in 2008 with two main aims: (1) To give teams in the Irish Regions a chance to play Competitive Football while building up their kit & player numbers and (2) to enable 2nds teams of bigger IAFL teams in the main league to field 2nds teams. 

From 2008-2009 each team played a full schedule (6 games in 2008 & 8 games in 2009) and from 2010-2012 teams from the Irish Regions played a full schedule and 2nds teams played a half or three-quarter schedule.

In 2013 the League became a full 11-a-side second Division known as the IAFL 1 Conference. The DV8 format was kept for a third level over the Winter months of 2012-13 (playing in Blitzes) and following formation of the IAFL 2 Conference in 2014, the format was used for the Junior Kitted League.



[1] Irish American Football Association (2008) 2008 Results [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/iafl/2008results.htm [Accessed 24 September 2016]

[2] Irish American Football Association – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2008) Home [Internet] Available from: https://web.archive.org/web/20081023215441/http://www.americanfootball.ie/ [Accessed 25 March 2017]

[3] Irish American Football Association (2009) 2009 IAFL Fixtures [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/2009iaflfixtures.htm [Accessed 17 October 2009]

[4] Irish American Football Association – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2009) Home [Internet] Available from: http://web.archive.org/web/20090505075956/http://www.americanfootball.ie [Accessed 24 March 2018]

[5] Irish American Football Association (2010) 2010 IAFL Schedule Published [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/2010-iafl-schedule-published/ [Accessed 24 March 2013]

[6] Irish American Football Association – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2010) DV8s Standings [Internet] Available from: http://web.archive.org/web/20100610090859/http://www.americanfootball.ie:80/dv8s-standings/ [Accessed 24 March 2018]

[7] Irish American Football Association (2011) 2011 IAFL Schedule Published [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/2011-iafl-schedule-published/ [Accessed 24 March 2014]

[8] Irish American Football Association – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2011) DV8s Standings [Internet] Available from: https://web.archive.org/web/20111010222137/http://www.americanfootball.ie/dv8s-standings/ [Accessed 25 March 2017]

[9] Irish American Football Association (2012) IAFL Standings [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/iafl-standings/ [Accessed 13 January 2013]

[10] Irish American Football Association – Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2013) 2013 IAFL 1 Standings / 2012 DV8s Standings [Internet] Available from: http://web.archive.org/web/20130516050107/http://www.americanfootball.ie:80/dv8s-standings/ [Accessed 24 March 2018]


[11] Irish American Football Association (2010) IAFA Logo [Internet] Available from: http://www.americanfootball.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/IAFA.jpg [Accessed 1 May 2017]


Thanks to Cillian Smith, Michael Smith, Ralph Schmeer and Michael Brophy of the Irish American Football Association and Irish American Football Officials Association.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 29 October 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply