Irish Baseball & Softball Association Irish Baseball League 1997


Belfast NorthStars
Belfast Team 2

Note: *Champions

Reference: [1-2]


The Dukes won the first Irish Baseball League season in 1997. The League started after a number of Softball players wanted something more competitive and started practicing Baseball, a then sent a team to the European Baseball Championships in Hull, England in 1996.

Peter O’Malley, the Irish-American owner of the Major League Los Angeles Dodgers donated $100,000 to develop the field at Corkagh Park into a proper Baseball Field and the League was born. Six teams entered the League that year – four from Dublin and two from Belfast – and after the season was over it was decided to start afresh with new teams and an all-players draft.

Home Field

TeamHome Field
The DukesO’Malley Baseball Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
The ColtsO’Malley Baseball Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
The ChiefsO’Malley Baseball Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
The DodgersO’Malley Baseball Fields, Corkagh Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
Belfast North StarsBelfast
Wolves ??Belfast



[1] O’Toole, Bernie (1997) “It’s a homerun for Irish baseball enthusiats as BERNIE O’TOOLE finds them batting in style | A minority sport” Evening Herald Thursday, June 19, 1997. pg. 22.


[2] Boston Irish (2008) Baseball in Ireland, really? The lowdown on Baseball in Ireland [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 29 July 2019]


Thanks to Peter Kavanagh, Baseball Ireland & Peter Mullin, Dublin Black Sox

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 29 July 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply