Irish Collegiate American Football Association | Summer Bowl 1993-1994

Champions 1993-1997

1993Marauding Fungis

Reference: [1-6]


In 1993 Cillian Smith, of Trinity College Dublin Thunderbolts American Football Club, started the Irish Collegiate American Football Association which played its first tournament that summer, taking the Summer Bowl name which had been used for American Football & Flag Football International Tournaments between Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland sides in aid of charities such as GOAL (an International Development Agency).

The first Summer Bowl in 1993 featured four teams and was won by the Marauding Fungi, with the College All-Stars in second place, and two Marlay teams taking the remaining two places. In 1994 the 1994 Summer Bowl featured the Monaghan Hurricanes, from the North West of Ireland, and in 1995 it had become a League, won by the Northside Devastators. In 1997 the Summer League was won by the Drimnagh Cycos.



[1] Anon (1993) *The newly-formed Irish Collegiate American Football Association. First Down. August 14 1993, pg. 20

[2] Naughton, L. (1993) Flag Football Evening Herald Thursday, July 29, 1993. pg. 73 (Sport 1).

[3] Naughton, L. (1993) What’s On: Flag Football Evening Herald Thursday, July 22, 1993. pg.92 .

[4] Naughton, L. (1994) American Football Evening Herald Thursday, Auguat 11, 1994. pg. 44.


Thanks to Liam Farrell & Peter Mullen, Drimnagh Cycos

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 24 November 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply