Junior Inter-Collegiate Rugby Football Union (Canadian Football) 1906

Present-day Canadian Junior Football League Logo [Ref: 1]


First Series
University of Toronto Varsity II20McMaster University1
Second Series
Royal Military College II16Queens University7
Queens University30Royal Military College II8
(Queens won series 37-24 on Agg)
Third Series
Queens University20University of Toronto Varsity II13
Queens University11University of Toronto Varsity II5
(Queens won series 31-18 on Agg)
Junior Inter-Collegiate Rugby Football Union Results 1906 [Ref: 2]


The Junior Inter-Collegiate Football union was one of two Junior College Football (Canadian Football) Leagues in Canada in 1906, the other being the Little Big Four. The JICFU was based in Ontario, Canada, with the University of Toronto II, Queens University (Kingston), Royal Military College (Kingston) and McMaster University (Hamilton) all based in the Province, and unlike the Little Big four, were all Universities, rather than Colleges in Status.

Queens University from Kingston won the Championship in 1906, having defeated Royal Miltary College II and University of Toronto Varsity II in a three-round knockout (elimination) tournament.

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships for players aged 18-23 since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/s720x720/172369_166507693399012_2554406_o.jpg?_nc_cat=108&_nc_eui2=AeEmInrSy7Bp5Q4nj_j07-ZNBsVadK5KjxZ41fzEaVCISv70yVik13v0v3zYpBxRgsfUNu-p8l9wNdwiUtbFgjxmLVz-GqrX6CXGQ0Q1t3vEOg&_nc_ohc=qW-lYWvPX78AQld50UAOtsqMmpIdM9heSa3xodVrfPzv-6YUYkLSkRtlA&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=6d635c510b3954231714cee2128f1767&oe=5E6D4BE8%5BAccessed 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: https://cdn4.sportngin.com/attachments/document/0132/8193/Team_Standings_1887-2016.pdf?_ga=2.223530395.1807741386.1558376670-2095904572.1558376670 [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply