Canadian Junior Football League Logo

Junior Ontario Rugby Football Union (Canadian Football) Championship Games 1890-1901

Present-Day Canadian Junior Football League Logo [Ref: 1]

Championship Games

01.11.1890University of Toronto II16Hamilton Ontarios8
07.11.1891Queens University II13Hamilton Jr Tigers10
10.11.1892Osgoode Hall II20Hamilton Tigers II2
04.11.1893University of Toronto Varsity III19Hamilton Tigers III9
10.11.1894Toronto Athletic Club Lomes II22Kingston Granites II19
02.11.1895Hamilton Tigers III28Kingston Granites II7
07.11.1896Kingston Granites II39Hamilton Jr Tigers III10
06.11.1897University of Toronto Varsity III9Petroloea FC II5
12.11.1898London Rugby Club II7University of Toronto Varsity III 2
18.11.1899London Jrs36Kingston Nationals0
10.11.1900Toronto Argonauts II6Kingston Limestones0
16.11.1901University of Toronto Varsity III15Kingston Limestones0
Junior Ontario Rugby Football Union Championship Games 1890-1901 [Ref: 2]


The Junior Ontario Rugby Football Union Championship was won by 10 different teams over a 12-year period from 1890 to 1901. Most notable among the teams is the appearance of the Toronto Argonauts II team and Hamilton Tigers III, Junior teams of future Canadian Football League teams.

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply