Kildare GAA | Senior Hurling Championship 2019

Kildare GAA Crest [5]

Section Tables

Section A
Eire Og Corra Choill312053632
Section B
Coill Dubh330068396
Confey GAA312042582

References: [1-2]

Championship Semi-Finals & Final

DateTimeHome TeamAway Team
22.09.201914:00Ardclough1-14 (17)Coill Dubh1-15 (18)
22.09.201915:45Naas1-15 (18)Eire Og Corra Choill1-10 (13)
06.10.201915:30Coill Dubh0-12 (12)Naas0-15 (15)

Reference: [2-4]

Section Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
Section A
28.06.19Leixlip 1-16 (19)Eire Og Corra Choill1-21 (24)
30.06.19Ardclough0-14 (17)Naas1-13 (16)
26.07.19Eire Og Corra Choill1-12 (15)Ardclough0-18 (18)
26.07.19Naas2-12 (18)Leixlip1-11 (14)
25.08.19Naas2-20 (26)Eire Og Corra Choill0-14 (14)
25.08.19Leixlip0-13 (13)Ardclough1-18 (21)
Section B
29.06.19Clane1-7 (10)Celbridge4-19 (31)
30.06.19Coill Dubh0-24 (24)Confey GAA0-7 (7)
27.07.19Confey GAA1-16 (19)Clane1-14 (17)
28.07.19Celbridge1-10 (13)Coill Dubh2-16 (22)
23.08.19Confey GAA1-13 (16)Celbridge1-14 (17)
23.08.19Clane2-13 (19)Coill Dubh2-16 (22)

Reference: [1-2]


Naas bridged a 17-year gap in finally winning the Senior Hurling Championship with a 0-15 to 0-12 win over Coill Dubh in St. Conleth’s. Coill Dubh were disappointed with their performance in the Final, missing 12 scoring opportunities, including two goal chances. Naas led 0-9 to 0-5 at the half, and scored most of their first half points from frees – only Shane Ryan & Brian Byrne scored from play, whereas Coill Dubh scored 4 of their five points from play.

Coill Dubh never changed their tactic of sending long balls directly into the forwards, and this was read easily and lapped-up by Naas in the first half. Naas were more settled in this game, and were assured throughout the game. They won by 3 points in the end.


Naas (Scorers in Brackets)Coil Dubh (Scorers in Brackets)
Cormac GallagherOwen Lenehan
Conor GormleyDiarmuid Cahill (0-1)
Richard HoganDylan Brereton
Donal McSweeneyJoseph Kenny
Paul SullivanConor Gordon
Rian BoranMark Grace
Simon LeacyBarry Mullins
Cathal DowlingMark Delaney (0-7)
Shane BroderickRoss Carew
Philip CorcoranJonathan Byrne (0-2)
Ross KellyDeclan Flaherty (0-1)
James Burke (0-2)Luke O’Reilly
Jack Sheridan (0-2)Ryan Casey (0-1)
Brian Byrne (0-8)Tom Brady
Shane Ryan (0-1)Mark Byrne
Sean Gainey for Gormley 3 minsRuairi Hayden for Kenny (h/t)
Mick Purcell (0-1) for Corcoran 51 mins
Darach Donnacha for MacSweeney 55 mins
Conor Dowling (0-1) for Ryan 80 mins
Mark Nevin for Dowling 60 mins

Reference: [4]



[1] Kildare GAA (2019) Club Hurling Fixtures & Results | 2019 HAVEN HIRE Senior Hurling Championship Section A | Section B {internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2019]

[2] Kildare GAA (2019) Club Hurling Fixtures & Results {internet] Available from: [Accessed 25 September 2019]

[3] Kildare GAA (2019) Haven Hire Senior Hurling Final 2019 {internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 October 2019] [Accessed 25 September 2019]


[4] Baker, Ian (2019) “Naas finally crowned Senior Hurling Championship winners”. Kildare Nationalist. Tuesday, October 8, 2019. p. 50.


[5] Kildare GAA (2018) Kildare GAA Crest [Accessed 30 August 2019]


Thanks to Paul Noonan.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive
Last Updated: 18 October 2019
(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019
You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply