Latin American Football Leagues

Photo by Pixabay on

This is a record of Latin American Gridiron (American Football) Leagues. American Football is known as Football Americano, or just simply Football, in Latin America, as opposed to Futbol, which is the Spanish name for Soccer.

The sport was first played in Mexico in the late 19th Century, and leagues first started appearing in Mexico in the 1940s. In the 2000s the first Kitted American Football Leagues started in Argentina and Brazil, and are now played everywhere in Latin America.


Campeonato Estadiaus (State Championships)

Amazonas Campeonato Amazonense (Seasons): 2019

Candango (Goias-Brasilia) Campeonato Candango (Seasons): 2019

Santa Catarina Campeonato Catarinense (Seasons): 2020

Carioca (Rio de Janeiro) Campeonato Carioca de Futebol Americano (Seasons): 2019

Gaucho (Rio Grande do Sul) Campeonato Gaucho de Futebol Americano (Seasons): 2020

Mato-Grosseto Campeonato Mato-Grossense de Football Americano (Seasons): 2018

Paulista (Sao Paulo) Sao Paulo Football League Diamond Series (Seasons): 2019

Mineiro (Minas Gerais) Minas Gerais Football League (Seasons): 2020


Football Americano Argentina Liga Mayor (Overviews):

Football Americano Argentina Liga Mayor 2012-2019


Liga Asociacion Guatemalteca de Football Americano (Overviews):

Asociacion Guatemalteca de Football Americano 2015-2017