Manitoba Junior Rugby Football Union (Canadian Football) 1893-1904

Present-day Canadian Junior Football League Logo [Ref: 1]


Spring 1893 *St. John’s Royalists Jrs5Winnipeg Collegiate School4
Fall 1893 *St. John’s Royalists Jrs0Winnipeg Collegiate School0
Fall 1894St. John’s Royalists Jrs2 Winnipeg FC Jrs2
Fall 1895St. John’s Royalists Jrs2Winnipeg FC Jrs0
Spring 1896St. John’s Royalists Jrs1Winnipeg FC Jrs1
Fall 1896St. John’s Royalists Jrs2Winnipeg FC Jrs1
Spring 1898 *Wesley College6Winnipeg FC Jrs4
Spring 1898 *Wesley College10St. John’s Royalists Jrs10
Fall 1898Winnipeg FC Jrs2St. John’s royalists Jrs0
Spring 1899 +Winnipeg FC Jrs1St. John’s Royalists Jrs 1
Fall 1899St. John’s Royalists Jrs1Winnipeg FC Jrs1
Spring 1901 *St. John’s Royalists Jrs10Winnipeg FC Jrs6
Spring 1904 *St. John’s Royalists Jrs9Winnipeg Kennedys0
Manitoba Junior Rugby Football Union Series 1893-1904 [Ref: 2]

Note: * Score of Single Game. + There was also a third game which was a tie.


The Manitoba Junior rugby Football Union ran a series of Intermittent Games over Spring and Fall from 1893 to 1904. A lot of these series were inconclusive, however overall, St. John’s Royalists Jrs had the better of Winnipeg FC Jrs, the other main team involved. Other games included Wesley College in 1898 and in 1904, there was a team called Winnipeg Kennedys, which lost 9-0 to St. John’s Royalists. Given the name, Kennedys may have been an Irish team.

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply