National Collegiate Athletic Association Football Division 1A Bowl Results 1988

Division 1A College Bowl Results 1988

Big 4 Bowls
CottonUCLA Bruins17Arkansas Razorbacks3
RoseMichigan Wolverines22USC Trojans14
SugarFlorida State Seminoles13Auburn Tigers7
OrangeMiami Hurricanes23Nebraska Cornhuskers3
Other Division 1A Bowls
HolidayOklahoma State Cowboys62Wyoming Cowboys14
PeachNorth Carolina State Wolfpack28Iowa Hawkeyes23
LibertyIndiana Hoosiers34South Carolina Gamecocks10
GatorGeorgia Bulldogs34Michigan State Spartans27
FiestaNotre Dame Fighting Irish34West Virginia Mountaineers21
Hall of FameSyracuse Orangemen23Louisiana State Tigers10
CitrusClemson Tigers13Oklahoma Sooners6
SunAlabama Crimson Tide29Army Black Knights28
IndependenceSouthern Mississippi38Texas-El Paso18
FreedomBrigham Young Cougars20Colorado Buffaloes17
All-AmericanFlorida Gators14Illinois Fighting Illini10
NCAA Football Division 1A Bowl Games 1988 [Ref: 1]

Division 1A Conferences 1988

Major Division 1A ConferencesOther Division 1A Conferences
Atlantic CoastIndependents
Big EightMid-American
Big TenMissouri Valley
Pacific 10Ohio Valley
SoutheasternPacific Coast
Western Athletic
NCAA Football Division 1A Conferences 1988 [Ref: 1]


The 1988 College Football Bowl Games in 1988, had Four Big Bowl Games: Cotton, Rose, Sugar and Orange. The Bowl Games participants are selected by the Conferences.

In 1947-48, the Rose Bowl became a Western Universities match-up between the winners of the Pacific Coast (now Pacific 10) and the Big Ten, always held in Pasadena, California. Michigan beat USC (Southern California) 22-14 in the 1988 Rose Bowl.

The Orange Bowl had a tendency at the time to match up the Country’s two best teams, for the unofficial title of “National Champion”. In 1988 Miami beat Nebraska 23-3.

The Cotton Bowl matches the Champions of the Southwest Conference with another top College from across the USA, and in 1988 UCLA (California-Los Angeles) were the invited team, and beat Arkansas 17-3.

The Sugar Bowl, like the Cotton Bowl, matches the Champions of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) with another top College from elsewhere in the United States and in 1988 Florida State (an Independent) beat Auburn (the SEC Champions) 13-7.

The Irish interest, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, from South Bend, Indiana, just outside Chicago, won the Fiesta Bowl, beating West Virginia 34-21.



[1] Rowe, Pete (1989) “Guinness American Football: Records, Facts and Champions” Fifth Edition, 1989. Pg. 112. Published in Great Britain by Guinness Publishing Ltd. Enfield, Middlesex


Thanks to Todd Zboyan & Tim Leadingham.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 13 April 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply