NHL Logo

National Hockey League Realignment 2020-21

National Hockey League Logo [Reference: 1]

NHL Divisions 2020-21

Calgary FlamesAnaheim DucksCarolina HurricanesBoston Bruins
Edmonton OilersArizona CoyotesChicago BlackhawksBuffalo Sabres
Montreal CanadiensColorado AvalancheColumbus Blue JacketsNew Jersey Devils
Ottawa SenatorsLos Angeles KingsDallas StarsNew York Islanders
Toronto Maple LeafsMinnesota WildDetroit RedwingsNew York Rangers
Vancouver CanucksSt. Louis BluesFlorida PanthersPhiladelphia Flyers
Winnipeg JetsSan Jose SharksNashville PredatorsPittsburgh Penguins
Vegas Golden KnightsTampa Bay LightningWashington Capitols
[Reference: 2]


Due to COVID-19 Restrictions on crossing the Canadian-USA border, the National Hockey League realigned its four divisions for a shortened 2020-21 season beginning at the start of January, with all seven Canadian teams in one North Division, and the 24 USA teams in 3 Divisions: East, Central and West. All teams are to play a 56-game schedule with Intra-Divisional games only up to the Stanley Cup Semi-Finals (i.e. Only matches against teams from their own Division). The top four teams in each division will qualify for the Divisional Semi-Finals, with the winners meeting in the Divisional Finals. The Four Divisional Champions then meet in the Stanley Cup Finals. All Rounds of the Playoffs will be best of 7.



[1] WAMC (2020) nhllogo  [Internet] Available from: https://www.wamc.org/sites/wamc/files/styles/medium/public/201405/nhllogo.jpeg [Accessed 12 August 2019]


[2] National Hockey League (2020) NHL Teams in New Divisions for 2020-21  [Internet] Available from: https://www.nhl.com/news/nhl-teams-in-new-divisions-for-2020-21-season/c-319844882 [Accessed 12 August 2019]


Thanks to Prof. Simon Perry (Trinity College Dublin)

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 23 December 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply