NCAA Football Division 1 Football Championship Subdivision Finals 1978-Present

NCAA Logo [Reference: 1]


DateWinning TeamRunners-Up
1978Florida A&M35Massachusetts28
1979Eastern Kentucky30Lehigh7
1980Boise State31Eastern Kentucky29
1981Idaho State34Eastern Kentucky23
1982Eastern Kentucky17Delaware14
1983Southern Illinois43Western Carolina7
1984Montana State19Louisiana State6
1985Georgia Southern44Furman42
1986Georgia Southern48Arkansas State21
1988Furman17Georgia Southern12
1989Georgia Southern37Stephen F Austin #34
1990Georgia Southern36Nevada13
1991Youngstown State25Marshall17
1992Marshall31Youngstown State28
1993Youngstown State17Marshall5
1994Youngstown State28Boise State14
1997Youngstown State10McNeese State9
1998Massachusetts55Georgia Southern43
1999Georgia Southern59Youngstown State24
2000Georgia Southern27Montana25
2002Western Kentucky34McNeese State14
2004James Madison31Montana21
2005Appalachian State21UNI16
2006Appalachian State28Massachusetts17
2007Appalachian State49Delaware21
2010Eastern Washington20Delaware19
2011North Dakota State17Sam Houston State6
2012North Dakota State39Sam Houston State13
2013North Dakota State35Towson7
2014North Dakota State29Illinois State27
2015North Dakota State37Jacksonville State10
2016James Madison28Youngtown State14
2017North Dakota State17James Madison13
2018North Dakota State38Eastern Washington24
2019North Dakota State28James Madison20
NCAA Football Division 1 Football Championship Subdivision Finals 1978-Present [References: 2]

Note: # Stephen F Austin vacated Championship participation in 1989.

NCAA stands for National Collegiate Athletic Association


The NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (originally Division 1AA) was introduced into American College Football in 1978, as the bigger Colleges (NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision) had become too competitive for the FCS Colleges. It is second-rank College Football, and third after NFL and NCAA FBS

There has been a number of dynasties, most notably North Dakota State which won the FCS Championship eight times in nine years from 2011 to 2019. Other dynasties have included Georgia Southern (six wins from eight championship appearances 1985 to 1990 and 1998 to 2000), Youngstown State (four wins from six appearances 1991 to 1999), and Appalachian State (three Championships in a row 2005 to 2007).



[1] NCAA | Wayback Machine Internet Archive (2015) logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 4 May 2020]


[2] NCAA (2020) Football FCS Championship History [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 September 2020]


Thanks to Joe Grey.

About this document

Researched, Compiled and Written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 12 September 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply