ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 1930-1980

ONEFA Logo [Reference: 1]


1930Centro Atlético Mexico
1931Centro Atlético Mexico
1932Centro Atlético Mexico
1933Pumas CU UNAM
1934Pumas CU UNAM
1935Pumas CU UNAM
1936Pumas CU UNAM
1937Pumas CU UNAM
1938Pumas CU UNAM
1939Pumas CU UNAM
1940Pumas CU UNAM
1941Pumas CU UNAM
1942Pumas CU UNAM
1943Pumas CU UNAM
1944Pumas CU UNAM
1945Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1946Pumas CU UNAM
1947Pumas CU UNAM
1948Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1949Aztecas UDLAP
1950Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1951Pumas CU UNAM
1952Pumas CU UNAM
1953Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1954Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1955Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1956Pumas CU UNAM
1957Pumas CU UNAM
1958Poli Blanco IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1959Pumas CU UNAM
1960Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1961Pumas CU UNAM
1962Poli Blanco IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1963Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1964Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1965Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1966Pumas CU UNAM / Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1967Pumas CU UNAM / Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1968Poli Guinda IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1969Búhos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1970Cóndores UNAM
1971Borregos Salvajes ITESM Monterrey
1972Borregos Salvajes ITESM Monterrey
1973Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1974Auténticos Tigres UANL / Borregos Salvajes ITESM Monterrey
1975Pieles Rojas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1976Borregos Salvajes ITESM Monterrey
1977Auténticos Tigres UANL
1978Cóndores UNAM
1979Cóndores UNAM
1980Cóndores UNAM
ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 1930-1980 [Reference: 2]


The Mexican College Football Championship (ONEFA) was won for the first three years from 1930 to 1932 by Centro Atlético Mexico, after which Pumas CU UNAM (Mexico City) won 12 Championships in a row. They went on to win another 10 Championships to 1980, before the “Big 10” (Metropolitan) and “National” Championships were introduced.

Burros Blancos IPN (National Polytechnic Institute) won six Championships between 1945 and 1955, and the National Polytechnic Institute (IPN) in Mexico City won the title with other teams (Poli Blanco IPN twice, Poli Guinda IPN 7 times and another three times with Águilas Blancas IPN, Búhos IPN and Pieles Rojas IPN), mostly between 1958 and 1969 (10 Championships)

Borregos Salvajes ITESM Monterrey, the Technology College, won four titles from 1971 to 1976, and Auténticos Tigres UANL (also from Nuevo León State) won the Championship in 1974 and 1977. Cóndores UNAM won four Championships 1970 and 1978 to 1980.

The ONEFA College Football Championship is one of the highlights of the Mexican American Football season, and was considered the National Championship from 1933 until recently. There was a single Championship from 1930 to 1981 when it was split into two Championships: Metropolitan (for the National Championship) and National (for Promotion/Ascent).

The Metropolitan Championship was renamed Big 10 in 1990 and Big 12 in 2004. In 2009 the Colleges agreed to merge the two Conferences into one, with two groups, each with its own Champion. In turn the “Centre” Conference would have two groups A & B each with its own Champion. The Conferences were realigned into “Centre”, “North” and “South”, each with its own Champion.

In 2012 a further restructuring took place, with ONEFA restoring the “Big 8”, mainly with teams from the Centre and the “National” with teams mainly from the North and South. In 2009 the ITESM Tech Colleges left to form their own College Football Organisation: CONADEIP.



[1] ONEFA (2020) ONEFA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 May 2020]


[2] ONEFA (2020) Historia [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 September 2020]


Thanks to Francesco

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 September 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply