ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 1981-2008

ONEFA Logo [Reference: 1]


1981Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1982Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1983Cóndores UNAM
1984Cóndores UNAM
1985Cóndores UNAM
1986Cóndores UNAM
1987Osos Acatlán UNAM
1988Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1989Pieles Rojas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1990Cóndores UNAM
1991Cóndores UNAM
1992Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute)
1993Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
1994Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
1995Aztecas UDLAP (Puebla)
1996Aztecas UDLAP (Puebla)
1997Aztecas UDLAP (Puebla)
1998Lobos UAdeC (Coahuila)
2000Borregos Salvajes CEM-ITESM
2003Borregos Salvajes CEM-ITESM (Estado de Mexico)
2004Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
2005Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
2006Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
2007Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM
2008Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM / Pumas CU UNAM
ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 1981-2008 [Reference: 2]


The ONEFA Mexican College Football Championship changed in 1981 to create a Metropolitan “Big 10” (Centre) and “National” (North and South) Conferences, with the National being the Ascenso or Promotion Conference and the Big 10 being the Major League.

The Águilas Blancas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute) won four Championships between 1981 and 2008, after which three equal Conferences were created. Cóndores UNAM won six Championhips over this period, Borregos Salvajes Monterrey ITESM seven Championships, Aztecas UDLAP (Puebla) three and Borregos Salvajes CEM-ITESM (EdoMex) once.

Three Colleges won the title once: Lobos UAdeC (Coahuila) from the National Conference (the only winner from that Conference), Pieles Rojas IPN (National Polytechnic Institute), and Osos Acatlán UNAM where the Irish Institute is based in Naucalpan.

The ONEFA College Football Championship is one of the highlights of the Mexican American Football season, and was considered the National Championship from 1933 until recently. There was a single Championship from 1930 to 1981 when it was split into two Championships: Metropolitan (for the National Championship) and National (for Promotion/Ascent).

The Metropolitan Championship was renamed Big 10 in 1990 and Big 12 in 2004. In 2009 the Colleges agreed to merge the two Conferences into one, with two groups, each with its own Champion. In turn the “Centre” Conference would have two groups A & B each with its own Champion. The Conferences were realigned into “Centre”, “North” and “South”, each with its own Champion.

In 2012 a further restructuring took place, with ONEFA restoring the “Big 8”, mainly with teams from the Centre and the “National” with teams mainly from the North and South. In 2009 the ITESM Tech Colleges left to form their own College Football Organisation: CONADEIP.



[1] ONEFA (2020) ONEFA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 May 2020]


[2] ONEFA (2020) Historia [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 September 2020]


Thanks to Francesco

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 September 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply