ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 2009-2011

ONEFA Mexican College Football Logo [Reference: 1]


YearONEFA / Centre NorthSouth
2009Autenticos Tigres UANL Nuevo LeonLobos UAdeC CoahuilaLeones Cancun UA
2010Pumas CU UNAM Mexico City Aguilas UACH ChihuahuaPotros Salvajes UAEM EdoMex
2011Autenticos Tigres UANL Nuevo LeonCentinelas CGP (Cuerpo de Guardias Presidenciales)Linces Guadalajara UVM
ONEFA (Mexican College Football) Champions 2009-2011 [Reference: 2]


Autenticos Tigres UANL (from Monterrey in Nuevo Leon), won the Centre Championship in ONEFA (Mexican College Football) in 2009 and 2011, Pumas CU UNAM (Mexico City) won in 2010. For the North and South Championships there was a different Champion each year.

The ONEFA College Football Championship is one of the highlights of the Mexican American Football season, and was considered the National Championship from 1933 until recently. There was a single Championship from 1930 to 1981 when it was split into two Championships: Metropolitan (for the National Championship) and National (for Promotion/Ascent).

The Metropolitan Championship was renamed Big 10 in 1990 and Big 12 in 2004. In 2009 the Colleges agreed to merge the two Conferences into one, with two groups, each with its own Champion. In turn the “Centre” Conference would have two groups A & B each with its own Champion. The Conferences were realigned into “Centre”, “North” and “South”, each with its own Champion.

In 2012 a further restructuring took place, with ONEFA restoring the “Big 8”, mainly with teams from the Centre and the “National” with teams mainly from the North and South. In 2009 the ITESM Tech Colleges left to form their own College Football Organisation: CONADEIP.



[1] ONEFA (2020) ONEFA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 May 2020]


[2] ONEFA (2020) Historia [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 September 2020]


Thanks to Francesco

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 September 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply