ONEFA (Mexican College Football) National Champions 2012-Present

ONEFA Logo [Reference: 1]


2012Potros Salvajes UAEM (EdoMex)
2013Pumas Acatlán UNAM
2015Lobos UAdeC (Coahuila)
2016Correcaminos UAT Norte / Lobos UAdeC
2017Potros Salvajes UAEM / Correcaminos UAT Ciudad Victoria
2018Correcaminos UAT Norte (Tamaulipas)
ONEFA (Mexican College Football) National Champions 2012-Present {Reference: 2]


The “National” Conference was restored in Mexican College Football in 2012 as the Promotion or Ascent (Ascenso) Conference below the Big 8. Featuring mainly colleges from the North and South, it has been won by a different College each year with the exception of Correcaminos UAT Norte (Tamaulipas) who have won it twice in 2016 and 2018 and Potros Salvajes UAEM (EdoMex) in 2012 and 2017 . In 2016 and 2017 The “National” had two Groups: North and South, and there was no Championship in 2014 and 2019.

The ONEFA College Football Championship is one of the highlights of the Mexican American Football season, and was considered the National Championship from 1933 until recently. There was a single Championship from 1930 to 1981 when it was split into two Championships: Metropolitan (for the National Championship) and National (for Promotion/Ascent).

The Metropolitan Championship was renamed Big 10 in 1990 and Big 12 in 2004. In 2009 the Colleges agreed to merge the two Conferences into one, with two groups, each with its own Champion. In turn the “Centre” Conference would have two groups A & B each with its own Champion. The Conferences were realigned into “Centre”, “North” and “South”, each with its own Champion.

In 2012 a further restructuring took place, with ONEFA restoring the “Big 8”, mainly with teams from the Centre and the “National” with teams mainly from the North and South. In 2009 the ITESM Tech Colleges left to form their own College Football Organisation: CONADEIP.



[1] ONEFA (2020) ONEFA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 May 2020]


[2] ONEFA (2020) Historia [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 September 2020]


Thanks to Francesco

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 September 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply