Canadian Junior Football League Logo

Quebec Rugby Football Union (Canadian Football) Junior Series 1887-1889

Canadian Junior football League Logo [Ref: 1]

Third Round (Finals) 1887-1889

05.11.1887Montreal AAA III8Lincoln College Rugby Club4
20.10.1888Britannia III FC5Victoria FC0
26.10.1889McGill University FC III10Montreal AAA III8
Quebec Rugby Football Union Junior Series Third Round 1887-1889 [Ref: 2]


The first Canadian Junior Football League Championships were the ones held in Quebec from 1887 to 1889. Played as a knockout (elimination) tournament over three rounds, the winners were Montreal AAA III (1887), Britannia III FC (1888) and McGill University FC III (1889). in 1990 the Quebec Rugby Football Union joined forces with the Ontario Union to run a joint competition.

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply