Rugby League Ireland

Rugby League is most popular in Australia and Northern England. It differs from Rugby Union in having two less players (13 as opposed to 15) and no scrums or lineouts.

It has been played in Ireland since Rugby Union players set up the Dublin Blues in the 1990s as a way of keeping fit during the rugby union off-season. The first Irish Rugby League season was in 1996, but the League didn’t play the 2000 season due to the decision by the Rugby League Authorities in England to no longder fund it. It was restarted in 2001 under a new administration: Rugby League Ireland.

In 2007 a separate Elite League was created with the Emerald Conference as a second level. Folowing this experiment the All-Ireland Championships were reinstated in 1010, featuring Leinster, Munster and Ulster Leagues, with an All Ireland Playoff. There is currently a League run on Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland basis with an All-Ireland Grand Final.

There is also EuroTag – a European version of Tag Rugby and RL Nines – full contact but with reduced numbers.

Below you will find links to the Results and Tables of various competitions in Ireland and involving Irish teams.

Rugby League Ireland | Irish Rugby League Overviews

RLI Irish Rugby League (Level 1 Overviews):

Rugby League Ireland | Irish Rugby League 2015-2019

Rugby League Ireland | All Ireland Championships 2010-2014

Rugby League Ireland | Elite League 2007-2009

Rugby League Ireland | Irish Conference 2001-2006

RLI Irish Rugby League (Level 2 Overviews):

Rugby League Ireland Emerald Rugby Conference 2007-2009

Rugby League Ireland Seasons

RLI | Irish Rugby League (Seasons): 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016

RLI | All Ireland Championships (Seasons): 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

RLI | Elite League (Seasons): 2009 2008

RLI | Irish Conference (Seasons): 2004 2003

RLI | National Conference (Seasons): 1999 1998 1997 1996