Tag: GAA World Games Football Irish Cup

GAA World Games Football Irish Cup 2016

GAA World Games 2016 Logo
GAA World Games 2016 Logo [References: 1]
GradeWinner Runner-Up 
 Men’s Football Irish Cup   
2016Middle East1-12 (15)Abu Dhabi Na Fianna1-11 (14) aet
GAA World Games Football Irish Cup 2016 [References: 2]


Middle East won the GAA World Games Football Irish Cup in 2016, defeating Abu Dhabi Na Fianna in the Final after extra-time. The World Games Irish Cup is like the Provincial Championship for the Irish players abroad in the World Counties. Mostly, it comprises teams from the Orient (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Australsia, South Africa)

About GAA World Games

There are two GAA Provincial Councils outside Ireland: the World Games comprising New York, United States, Canada, Australasia, Europe, Asia and Middle East GAA Councils; and the Britain GAA Provincial Council comprising the GAA Counties of London, Warwickshire, Lancashire, Yorkshire, Hertfordshire, Gloucestershire and Scotland. Both have County Championships and Provincial Championships in Gaelic Football, Hurling, Camogie and Ladies Gaelic, although not all as yet have Hurling, Camogie or Ladies Gaelic Football Championships. There are also Clubs in Argentina, Moscow, the Cayman Islands and South Africa.



[1] Ladies Gaelic Football Association (2016) World-Games [Internet] Available from: https://ladiesgaelic.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/World-Games.jpg [Accessed 12 November 2020]


[2] GAA (2016) GAA World Games Finals Round [Internet] http://www.gaa.ie/news/etihad-airways-gaa-world-games-finals-round/ [Accessed 21 Dec 2016]


Thanks to Edmund Corrigan, Decy Maher, Anton “Pippo” O’Grady & Michael O’Callaghan

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | GAA World Archive

Last Updated: 18 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019-2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.