Victorian Gridiron Football League 1988-1989

Gridiron Victoria Logo 2019 [Ref: 4]

VGFL 1988

DateHome TeamAway Team
Vic Bowl IV
28.08.1988Brighton Outlaws20Melbourne Hornets17
Victorian Gridiron Football League Playoffs 1988 [Ref: 1]

VGFL 1989

Northern Conference
*Doncaster Devils11101038812090.9
*Berwick Miners1165014613354.5
Brighton Outlaws1156018614145.4
Croydon Rangers113808621627.3
Southern Conference
*Peninsular Sweathogs12111032210491.7
*Melbourne Hornets1284023411666.7
Prima Holiday Sharks1257010822041.7
Nunawading Warriors121101107285.125
Geelong Warriors121101101346.125
Victorian Gridiron Football League Final Standings 1989 [Ref: 2]
DateHome TeamAway Team
17.09.1989Doncaster Wildcats27Berwick Miners12
17.09.1989Peninsular Sweathogs32Melbourne Hornets7
Vic Bowl V
24.09.1989Doncaster Devils14Peninsular Sweathogs8
Victorian Gridiron Football League Playoffs 1989 [Ref: 2-3]


The Brighton Outlaws won their third straight Vic Bowl for the Victorian Gridiron Football League title in 1988, triumphing 20-17 in a closely fought encounter with the Melbourne Hornets. Melbourne led 17-6 at half time, through touchdowns from Running Backs Peter Dionysion and George Makis, but the Outlaws hit back through a TD from Bruce Ayles.

The turning point in the game came in the last 30 seconds as Dionysion fumbled the ball and the Outlaws recovered on the Hornets 25 yard line. On a 4th-and-10 with 11 seconds left Outlaws QB Jim Borta found Treye Jackson for the winning score.

In the 1989 Vic Bowl the Peninsular Sweathogs came into the game as odds on favourites, but five timely interceptions by the Doncaster Devils defense kept them in the game in the first half in front of 1,500 fans. The Sweathogs had 18 first downs in the third quarter to the Devils 7, but just as it seemed the Devils were about to give up, QB Peter Busch, scrambled for a 56 yard touchdown on a broken play in a third-and-five at their own 44 yard line.

Gerard Hoskins levelled matters for the Sweathogs on a short-yard run and the Sweathogs forced a safety on the next series, but on another broken play – the Devils designated Offensive player did not work all day – Busch broke out again for a 64-yard rushing TD. The Extra-Point was kicked and the Devils were Vic Bowl V Champions. Gerard Hoskins won the game MVP Award, for his rushing, six receptions and numerous kick returns.



[1] Rowe, Peter (1989) “The Australia Connection” American Football News. 1 September 1988. pg. 18.

[2] Rowe, Peter (1989) “Down Under” World American Football. 27 September 1989.

[3] Rowe, Peter (1989) “Ne Balls in Oz?” World American Football. 4 October 1989.


[4] Gridiron Victoria (2019) GV-Logo-with-Stroke [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 4 July 2020]


Thanks to Richard Conville

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 June 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply