Scottish Claymores Alternate Logo 1998

World Football League (Scenario 2) 2022

World Football League 2022

IFC EuropeWFC Europe
Rome CardinalsAtlantic Claymores (Dublin-Glasgow)
Berlin ColtsBarcelona Dragons
London RavensAmsterdam Crusaders
Paris BengalsStockholm Nordic Vikings
IFC WorldWFC World
Toronto BillsDelhi Defenders
Mexico City BrownsShanghai Legend
Sydney RamsRio de Janeiro Alligators
Tokyo ChargersCape Town Lions
IFC AmericaWFC America
The HawaiiansProvidence Steamroller
Southern California SunOmaha Mustangs
Arizona WranglersArkansas Diamonds
Portland BreakersAustin Texans
World Football League (Scenario 2) 2022


The National Football League folded the NFL Europe League after 17 years in 2007 to focus on promoting the NFL in Europe through the International Series of Games in London, with the intention of putting a team there by 2022.

In this second scenario for World American Football, a number of teams break away from the NFL due to some controversy (such as allowing Women players – a female kicker has been training with the Colts recently), and form their own league, moving to countries outside the United States e.g. Rome Cardinals, London Ravens, Paris Bengals, Toronto Bills, Mexico City Browns, and are joined by new teams in America (The World Football League uses old WFL team names from the 1970s: The Hawaiians, Southern California Sun etc).

Two Conferences are created: the International Conference and World Conference. The teams named above are placed in the International Conference, and World Conference includes the Atlantic Claymores (Dublin-Glasgow), Stockholm Nordic Vikings, Delhi Defenders, Cape Town Lions, and old “Outlaw” league teams, Providence Steamroller, Omaha Mustangs and Austin Texans.

With the creation of the United Football League with the X and United Football Conferences, this leaves 3 Pro American Football Leagues, with 6 Conferences: each having 12 teams.

The Scottish Claymores are resurrected as the Atlantic Claymores (Dublin & Glasgow)



[1] Chris Creamer’s Sports Logos (2019) Scottish Claymores Alternate Logo 1998 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 27 November 2019]


Thanks to Fiona Corrigan, Caoimhe Mullaney, Alan Delaney, John Wills, John Kane, Todd Zboyan, Lenka Mulligan, Eoin O’Farrell, Richard Mulcahy and family, Dervla Mulcahy and family, Declan Mulcahy and Nora Mulcahy.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 16 April 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply