World Series of Pro Football 1902-1903

WSPF Champions 1902-1903

1902Syracuse AC (New York State)
1903Franklin AC (Pennsylvania)
World Series of Pro Football Champions 1902-1903 [Ref: 1]


The World Series of Pro Football was a brief attempt at determining the “World Champions” of American Football that lasted two seasons from 1902 to 1903. It was played as a tournament rather than league, featuring four to five teams.

The first World Series featured five teams: Syracuse AC, New York Knickerbockers, Warlow AC, Orange (New Jersey) AC and a team named New York that was actually made up of players from the Phillies and Athletics from Philadelphia. Syracuse AC won the Series.

The second World series in 1903 was won by Franklin AC of Pennsylvania, with the Oreos AC (Asbury Park, New Jersey), Watertown Red and Blacks and Orange AC the other competing teams.



[1] National Football League (2014) “Chronology of Professional Football” 2013 NFL Record & Fact Book. pg. 353


Thanks to Mom Tully.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 15 April 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply