XFL Football Leagues Era (1990-2020)

X Football Leagues Era (1990-2020)

From the early 1990s to 2020 Leagues have sprung up that have attempted to be the AFL / WFL / USFL of the Era. Some of these Leagues, such as the XFL of 2001 and 2020 have had quite an impact on the American Football scene, with big budgets, and Major TV contracts.


XFL 2020

XFL 2001

Alliance of American Football 2019

United Football League 2009-2011

Regional Football League 1999

Spring Leagues

Another set of leagues has played a limited schedule – 2 to 3 games per team per season, often due to fans not showing up at the gates, or sometimes due to repositioning themselves as leagues confined to one area – ie. South Florida (Stars Football League) or New York / New England (FXFL)

The Spring League 2017-Present

FXFL Fall Experimental Football League 2014-2015

Stars Football League 2011-2013

The Spring League (Seasons): 2020 2019 2018 2017

FXFL Fall Experimental Football League (Seasons): 2014 (X)

Stars Football League (Seasons): 2011 2012 2013

Spring Football League (Seasons): 2000

AAA Leagues Which Failed To Start

Most of these Leagues, however, have failed to even start their first season, have defrauded investors, or just suffered from a lack of mainstream publicity in the Internet Era with so much Football and other sports available to view online.

X-League Extreme Football League 2020 (L)

Pacific Pro Football 2020

Major League Football 2020

Freedom Football League 2020

American Patriot League 2018-2020

Trinity Professional Spring Football League 2018

North American Football League 2016

Fan Ownership League 2001

International Football Federation 2000

Professional Spring Football League 1993

Note: (W) Usually considered part of the World Football Leagues.

(L) Usually considered part of the Legends Football Leagues.

(S) Could also be considered a Limited Schedule League – 2-3 games per team.

(X) Could also be considered an XFL League

Southern AA Development Leagues

Gridiron Developmental Football League 2015-2019

Gridiron Development Football League (Seasons): 2020