GAA Football | St. Brendan’s Cup 1954-1960


St. Brendan’s Cup Finals 1954-1960

New York v National League Winners


Date Venue Home Team Away Team
31.10.54 Polo Grnds, NY New York 0-10 Mayo 2-3
09.10.55 Croke Park, D Dublin 2-9 New York 0-10
20.10.57 Polo Grnds, NY New York 3-8 Galway 3-13
05.10.58 Croke Park, D Dublin 2-6 New York 1-7
18.10.59 Gaelic Park, NY New York 1-8 Kerry 2-11
09.10.60 Croke Park, D Down 2-8 New York 0-6

Reference: [1]


The St. Brendan’s Cup was played between the National League winners and New York from 1954-1960. It was named in honour of the Irish Saint, who according to Legend sailed off the West Coast of Ireland and discovered America before Christopher Columbus or the Vikings.


New York defeated Mayo by 10 pts to 9 in 1954, but all other Cups went to the National League winners, with Dublin winning twice ( 1955 & 1958) and Galway, Down & Kerry winning the other three titles.






[1] GAA (2017) – “The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games – Full GAA Records from 1887 to 2017 Inclusive DBA Publications Limted, Dublin. Pg. 405




Thanks to Edmund Corrigan, Decy Maher, Pippo O’Grady & Michael O’Callaghan


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 28 January 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply