International Flag Football

European Flag Football (Decade/Era Overviews)

Irish teams have been playing International matches since the first charity bowl in the 1980s in aid of GOAL (an Irish International Development Agency) – the GOAL Heroes v RTE Raiders. Following on from that the Drimnagh Cycos played in the Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge for 9 years against the Leicester Europa Eagles, and then another charity event, the Irish-American Flag Football Classic, was held between two teams representing the US Ambassador’s Residence (Phoenix Park Pirates) and the American Embassy (Dublin 8s). The Celtic Bowl was held in 2015 between 8 Irish teams and two Scottish teams to celebrate the 30th anniversary of American Football in Ireland.

Ireland entered the European Flag Football Championships in 2009 and 2013 and from 2016 to the present the Craigavon Cowboys have represented Ireland in the Champions Bowl, an annual tournament for the Champions of Europe’s Flag Football Leagues.

International Flag Football:

Team Ireland Flag Football Friendlies 1997-2007

Irish International Series (Seasons):


European Federation of American Football | European Flag Football Championship 2009-2013

European Club Flag Football Competitions:

International Federation of American Football Europe | Flag Football | Champions Bowl 2016-2018


Champions Bowl (Seasons):

2016 2017 2018

Irish International Club Flag Football Competitions:

Jack Daniels Summer Bowl International Flag Football Challenge 1986-1992

Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge 1997-2005

Irish-American Flag Football Classic 2010-2014

Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge (Box Scores | Seasons):

1997 1998 1999 2001 2004

Irish Flag Football Association | Celtic Bowl (Seasons):


Flag Football Ireland | Europa Cup Tournaments (Season):