Irish American Football Association Shamrock Bowls 1986-2019

American Football Ireland Logo [Ref: 2]
I1986Craigavon Cowboys6Dublin Celts2
II1987Dublin Celts43Craigavon Cowboys25
III1988Dublin Celts34Belfast Blitzers6
IV1989Dublin Celts7Antrim Bulldogs6
V1990Dublin Celts40Craigavon Cowboys0
VI1991Dublin Celts66Antrim Bulldogs6
VII1992Craigavon Cowboys14Antrim Bulldogs6
VIII1993Dublin Tornadoes22Dublin Celts2
IX1994Dublin Tornadoes21Carrickfergus Knights15
X1995Dublin Tornadoes44Carrickfergus Knights12
XI1996Dublin Lightning26Dublin Tornadoes8
XII1997Carrickfergus Knights21Dublin Bulls0
XIII1998Carrickfergus Knights22Dublin Tigers14
XIV1999Dublin Tigers22Carrickfergus Knights6
2000No Competition
XV2001Dublin Rebels28Carrickfergus Knights7
XVI2002Carrickfergus Knights66University of Limerick Vikings0
XVII2003Dublin Rebels24Carrickfergus Knights12
XVIII2004Dublin Rebels24Carrickfergus Knights22
XIX2005Dublin Rebels26Belfast Bulls19
XX2006Dublin Rebels44University of Limerick Vikings12
XXI2007University of Limerick Vikings22Cork Admirals14
XXII2008University of Limerick Vikings14Dublin Rebels12
XXIII2009University of Limerick Vikings9Dublin Rebels6 (OT)
XXIV2010Dublin Rebels15University of Limerick Vikings0
XXV2011Dublin Rebels14University of Limerick Vikings13
XXVI2012Belfast Trojans16University of Limerick Vikings 14
XXVII2013Belfast Trojans48Dublin Rebels18
XXVIII2014Belfast Trojans7Trinity College Dublin0
XXIX2015Belfast Trojans28Trinity College Dublin14
XXX2016Dublin Rebels12Belfast Trojans7
XXXI2017Dublin Rebels12Carrickfergus Knights6
XXXII2018Cork Admirals18Dublin Rebels16
XXXIII2019Belfast Trojans24South Dublin Panthers10
American Football Ireland Shamrock Bowl Results 1986-Present [Ref: 1-3]

Reference: [1]

Note: The 1990 Shamrock Bowl is disputed between the Craigavon Cowboys & Dublin Celts. There was a separate Irish League (Northern Ireland) & League of Ireland (Republic of Ireland) with the Dublin Celts electing to play in the NCMMA (British Second Level) as well as playing matches against Irish Teams. At the end of the Season a match was organised between the Winners of the Irish League (Craigavon Cowboys) & the Dublin Celts, which the Celts won 40-0, according to the AFI website.

Note 2: There was no League in 2000.

Composite Table 1986-2019

Dublin Rebels1394
Belfast Trojans651
Dublin Celts752
Dublin Tornadoes431
University of Limerick Vikings835
Carrickfergus Knights *936
Craigavon Cowboys422
Dublin Lightning110
Cork Admirals211
Dublin Tigers211
Belfast Blitzers101
Belfast Bulls101
Dublin Bulls101
South Dublin Panthers101
Trinity College Dublin202
Antrim / A26 Bulldogs303
American Football Ireland Shamrock Bowl Composite Table 1986-2019 [Ref: Compiled from 1-3]


The Craigavon Cowboys won the first Shamrock Bowl in 1986, after that the Dublin Celts won 5-in-a-row from 1987 to 1991, a record winning streak that is still there today. Craigavon Cowboys won their second in 1992, before the Dublin Tornadoes won three in-a-row from 1993 to 1995, before being stopped short of four in-a-row by the Dublin Lightning in the Shamrock Bowl in 1996. The Carrickfergus Knights appeared in seven Shamrock Bowls in-a-row from 1997 to 2004, winning in 1997, 1998 and 2002, with the Dublin Tigers winning in 1999, and the Dublin Rebels in 2001.

From 2003 to 2006 the Rebels were Champions, with the University of Limerick Vikings winning their first of three-in-a-row in 2007. The Dublin Rebels then won in 2010 and 2011, before the Belfast Trojans won 4-in-a-row from 2012 to 2015, then it was another Rebels brace, winning in 2016 and 2017. The Cork Admirals won their first Shamrock bowl in 2018, before the Belfast Trojans won their fifth in 2019.

Dublin Celts – Shamrock Bowl II Champions 1987 [Ref: 4]



[1] Irish American Football Association (2019) Shamrock Bowl Winners [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 August 2019]

[2] American Football Ireland (2020) AFI Logo 2020 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 10 February 2020]

[3] Anon. (1991) “Bowl back in Dublin”Belfast Telegraph. Monday, September 30, 1991. pg. 18 [Internet] Available online at the Irish Newspaper Archive at: which is a subscription service.


[4] Dublin Celts American Football Team | Facebook (2017) [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 21 January 2019]


Thanks to Cillian Smith, Michael Smith, Ralph Schmeer and Michael Brophy of the Irish American Football Association and Irish American Football Officials Association; Tim Leadingham (Tallaght Outlaws); Joe Grey (Dublin Dragons); Sean Douglas (Dublin Rebels & UCD).

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 11 August 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply